Anyone working on rooting Droid Incredible 2?

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible 2 Hacks' started by meltdown, May 1, 2011.

  1. ManuKind

    ManuKind New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone - I just registered.

    Previously I had an Incredible on the Unrevoked3 root. Does anyone know how to get in touch with them to see if they're going to do anything with the Incredible 2? I can't seem to find any email addresses.
     
  2. jellybean420

    jellybean420 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me and jcase are working on rooting it. I'm just testing out his theories. So far nothing concrete.

    Sent from my ADR6350
     
  3. jlee6119

    jlee6119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    no necessary need for "HTC Sync". temp root actually works even in a Charge Only mode, as far as debug mode is enabled (at least for me).

    the only thing is, i can't get 3g mobile hotspot working.
     
  4. WorldOfJohnboy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a question or 3: My wife has a DInc, rooted and a screen-off SetCPU profile. I also removed bloatware from it, but did not load a ROM on it. I just purchased a DInc2 as a surprise for her. If I were to give her the DInc2, could I do the following using just the Temp Root?

    -Backup current phone using Titanium Backup
    -Temp Root the DInc2
    -Restore Titanium Backup onto Temp Rooted DInc2
    -Remove VZW/bloatware from DInc2
    -Reboot DInc2 and not run Temp Root.

    I wouldn't be able to run full backups using Titanium nor could I run SetCPU, but would the Bloat removal cause issues if I am no longer rooted?
     
  5. anguish

    anguish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I do. The only thing I had issues with though, and I'm not sure it was from the restore process, was with my PIN that I use to unlock the phone. I had been doing some testing yesterday, completely rebuilt the phone, did a full restore, and no matter how many times I typed in my PIN (correctly too), it rejected it. Ultimately ended up wiping the device because of it.

    That said, I've restored multiple apps, removed bloatware, etc. I generally don't run in temp root, and I'm quite content functioning this way so far.
     
  6. anguish

    anguish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I'm not mistaken, you only need HTC Sync for the drivers. As I understand it, you can remove HTC Sync right afterwards, but you'll still have the drivers.
     
  7. WorldOfJohnboy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe he was referring to the Phone setting. You don't need to select HTC Sync on the phone, you can select charge only.

    Also, there are other ways to install a driver without having to download/install HTC Sync on your PC.


    Awesome, that helps a lot, I think I will surprise her tonight in that case!
     
  8. MLIB

    MLIB New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If anybody is able to help me out it would be much appreciated, i want to get the bloatware, DRM protection, and vzw processes etc... off my droid so i can achieve max battery potential. anyone have a solution, i am willing to root but i just dont want to make the phone glitchy because as of right now it runs so smooth. And if anyone could tell me the difference between temp rooting and freezing etc...cause im new to this whole rooting process.
    Thanks
     
  9. bik2101

    bik2101 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you'll need root to do any of those things MLIB. so unfortunately that won't be possible. the only option is the temp root, which unfortunately gets undone anytime your phone is rebooted. freezing requires root, temp or permanent.
     
  10. WorldOfJohnboy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just noticed that without permanent root, you can't get rid of bloatware. I Moved all the apps to the SD Card and rebooted and they still came back.

    Oh well, guess I will have to wait for a permanent root! At least I was able to restore my wife's Titanium backup of her old phone.
     
  11. bik2101

    bik2101 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    just freeze them. pretty much the equivalent of removing them except for the fact that you won't get the space back, which imo isn't a big deal. i just went in and froze a few apps too. hoping that i get better battery life now. :)
     
  12. devator22

    devator22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mid-West United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once you temp root, you have to use either TB freezer or bloat freezer from the market. IMO, bloat freezer works better. You have to run it in S-ON mode (in settings). Not running it in this mode will cause it to not persist through a reboot. Another method suggested though not tested by me is to go into the system folder using root explorer and renaming the apk's to .bak...though not sure if this will work with temp root. Make sure you only freeze/rename/delete the apps listed as safe on xda..there's a thread there somewhere. Messing with certain apps will potentially soft brick your phone, but with no custom recovery it might as well be bricked. Note that in the past, phones without the bloat intact were unable to receive OTA updates...a good reason to freeze or rename instead of deleting.
     
Search tags for this page

adr6350 adb drivers

,
custom rom htc6350 download
,
download framaroot for htcadr6350
,
drivers htc adr6350
,
droid incredible 2 work with net ten
,
how to configure my htc adr6350 to stowaway
,
how to move framaroot app to sd card adr6350
,
htc adr6350 framaroot version
,
rooting incredible 2 device safe
,
which framaroot will work on htc 6350 incredible 2