Anyone waiting for a better deal on the Nexus?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by ice456789, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. ex0rcist

    ex0rcist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The ten percent is the screen and cameras... and also cpus dont work like that... one rzr Could hit 2.0... my db night max at 1.7 and ur gnex might not make it past 1.5ghz... so ur double wrong ...the hardware is exactly the same... gnex runs slightly overclocked gpu yes... but the 0map 4460 and 4430 chipsets by ti.. are exactly the same. Period. So you have no idea what you're talking about.. there is no clear overclocking king... specially when working with the exact same hardware...ive built so many Pc's in my time.. and i for one can tell you.. one core2duo e4500 might hit 3.0ghz... then an exact same brand and model chip ...only 2 chips down the production line might only get 2.8ghz...on a side note.. im really enjoying all these people telling me what thier gnex is guna do and how much they will overclock it..when they havent even touched one...gnexs attractive feature is not its hardware.. its ics and open bootloader on vzws lte network... if it didnt have those two things no one would even care about the curved ugly thing... would just be another dualcore lte phone. Woopie doooo. Rofll. U guys kill me.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  2. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Sorry man, you're not convincing anyone here. Face it, the Gnex is infinitely better than the Bionic. Your benchmark scores mean nothing in the real world. If you're really in to benchmarks, wait til they have a benchmark app that factors ICS into the equation.
     
  3. techRob

    techRob Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +1
    ex0rcist - yes n no. I'm prolly in the minority here, but while part of ur statement about the attractiveness is true (those two items, plus stating ppl would prolly ignore it otherwise)... here's what does it for me:
    * No vzw bloat (those two apps hardly count - at least I'm nit being force fed blockbuster)
    * Updates FROM Google as opposed to from the hardware manufacturer / vzw.
    * no 3rd party skin
    * yes, its way more open
    * yes, first legit ICS phone
    * I like the concept of no shutter lag (big issue on my phone)

    manufacturer wise, I'm a Motorola fan. I don't wanna ever get an HTC, and I'm hesitant on Samsung. However, there are small trade offs to get what I want from a phone. Also, don't say "you can root / theme etc... to take care of all that." - I don't want to have to do that. If I root, its because I just want to.

    ...and no, I personally don't plan on OC'g the gnex - did it on my Droid, never saw a drop of difference.

    Tapp'd via OG Droid on life support...
     
  4. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    Ok, but you're assuming I'll get one that can't be OC'd higher than 1.5ghz so now you're wrong. I know how CPU's work I'm not ignorant I do lots of techie reading and have also built computers. Maybe you should really do some research instead of thinking you know more than someone else.

    Read this: OMAP™ 4 Platform - OMAP4430/OMAP4460

    Notice it says OMAP4430 operates at 1.0ghz and OMAP4460 operates at 1.5ghz. Please tell me how this means the OMAP4460 is not superior to the OMAP4430. The OMAP4460 also has better video graphics performance too but I guess you already knew that. They may be the same chipset but the OMAP4460 is far superior than the OMAP4430. Don't ever tell me I don't know what I'm talking about because I do research before I start running my mouth.
     
  5. ex0rcist

    ex0rcist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The bloat will still SOMEWHAT be there but with ics.. u can freeze it. and i said vanilla.. so i basically ment less bloat... no blur or sence or wiz... and updates are still going to be from vzw. Otas wont be put out by google.. they will be sent from google or samdung to big red.. who will approve it.. add what they want.... and then be sent out via ota by vzw.. and shutter lag? Camera xoom fx... nuff said .. just wanted to correct the misinfo. Again.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  6. LuvMusic

    LuvMusic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Ratings:
    +1
    Back on topic......

    I'm in the same situation you are.....D1, running fine. Don't need a new phone but want a new phone. One kid got skateboard stuff and the other an Asus Transformer.

    Waiting to see how the hardware performs in the real word. Also am considering an unlocked Nexus with 32gb, not available yet, but, I suspect soon. I'd really like to have world phone capabilities.

    Kind of interested in seeing some reports on the Samsung Galaxy S2 HD....suppose to have a new dual-core processor in it that is faster and more efficient.

    The saying....."If you can't decide, don't"
     
  7. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +25
    Wrong again! It's a Nexus device! Google sends out the OTAs as they've done with every Nexus device. Please go troll somewhere else. Your ignorance is killing my high.

    No, not because the number is bigger, because it performs better! You're 98 Mustang might not perform as good as my 98 Mustang therefore mine would be the better car, you get this logic or do I need to put it in dummy form? They might not be physically different but they perform different which means the OMAP4460 is better.
     
    #31 BL4Z3D247, Dec 7, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  8. nleksan

    nleksan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +1
    ex0rcist,

    I've built PC's, I'm tech-friendly, and I know enough to say that I am willing to bet a month's pay that EVERY G-Nex will be able to hit 1.5ghz no problem, because that's what it was designed to run at! It was underclocked to save on battery, I would bet, and I wouldn't be surprised if 12mo from now there is an OTA update that kicks it up the extra 300mhz to keep people happy with their phones.

    This isn't like AMD taking a Phenom II X6 1100T and software-disabling two cores to turn it into a Phenom II X4 960T, this is simply an UNDER-CLOCKED chip! But, even if the AMD scenario, there's about an ~80% success rate for people who have tried to "unlock" the two extra cores, with very few of them actually having been disabled due to damage.

    I would say that Google/Samsung want to eek every last second of battery out of this monstrously-screened, 3G/4G/WiFi-radio-ed, dual-core processor phone and EVERYONE who is really familiar with the PC-world, much less building and overclocking them, knows that when you down-volt and under-clock something you increase reliability while retaining the exact same performance for THE MAJORITY OF users (the exception being the "enthusiasts", gamers, etc).

    I have never seen a factory under-clocked chip, whether phone or PC, that couldn't be knocked back to it's OEM-specified operating frequency, not once. I'm not talking about chip errors, or faulty cores, or whatever, I'm talking about what Samsung/Google is doing: using software to under-clock.

    And, with this being Google's flagship phone, I HIGHLY doubt that any of them are going out there into the wild with "defect" 4460 chips, they are likely getting the best of the litter, while phones like the Razr and Bionic are getting chips that may have slight defects on their surface causing them to not run RELIABLY at 1.5ghz, at least some of them. But Google is a brilliant company and they're quite intelligent strategists and their level of tech-wizardry would put all of us to shame, so I will trust that they know what they're doing.

    If I am wrong, and I honestly think I am correct, I will come back on here and personally apologize to you and admit that you are correct, and that I should be more humble. I am willing to do that, I just don't think it will happen...

    Sincerely,
    nleksan


    (BTW, I've had four Phenom II X6 1100T's, and every single one of them has hit 5.2ghz with the exact same voltage/multiplier/speed settings using the exact same water cooling setup, same Crosshair V motherboard, same OC'd G.Skill DDR3-1600 RAM, and same dual-6970's OC'd at 990/1400/6100, but it's a monstrous water cooling setup to be fair... CPU/chipset/GPU1/GPU2/SDD1/SDD2/RAM are all cooled via 3 pumps, 3x240mm external radiators and 2x 180mm internal inline radiators, 2L refrigerated reservoir, 5/8" tubing, 100% copper heat sinks, 100% copper barbs, etc; whole system runs over 90GPM and keeps my CPU at about 50*C after 6hrs of 100% load and both GPU's at ~50-55C after 6hrs 100% load)
     
  9. hwiya320

    hwiya320 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since I'm not as techie as some of the other members, I'm planning on buying Nexus without a complaint on its specification.

    I do plan on waiting it out, at least till end of the year to see if the price comes down due to Holidays. As much I like to have a new phone, my droid X is working fine and I couldn't wait to save additional $50 bucks (assuming that VZ will apply its traditional $50 price decrease on aging models).
     
  10. maniaryan

    maniaryan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you guys think of the report that it'll be 300 at radioshack and costco? Costco will probably have accessories but not sure about radioshack..
     
  11. ObieNobie

    ObieNobie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me and the 4 others on my line are gonna bust in vzw and demand that we get a good deal because we are getting 4 of them. If they say no then **** will get real real fast...:angry: