Anyone try the ported Gingerbread KB?

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by RW-1, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just wondering, I'm on 1.1.1 and might delve into it later this week, seems Peter corrected the auto correct,

    I figure it shouldn't have any issues, as our ROM doesn't have anything on top of the stock KB ...
     
  2. blueaurora

    blueaurora New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I pulled the modified one that corrects the dictionary logic and it is working fine. It isn't that big of a deal unless you are in the landscape mode. Dictionary thing was a big help because that hasn't been working on a few of my 1.1x versions from CVPCS

    But it works fine on 1.1.5 for me.

    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  3. AuroEdge

    AuroEdge Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The posted keyboard works well. Nice!
     
  4. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, I posted on the other mod thread on it.

    I didn't have to look for or uncheck a second android kb, nor select english, it was a straightforward update.

    Takes a bit to get used to though, long presses do much more, but damn! It is nice, faster and more accurate than the previous stock one IMO.
     
  5. Spyder RT

    Spyder RT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just installed it into ShadowROM and I love it.
     
  6. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    What is the big issue here with the lacking multi-touch. The Droid 2 keyboard works fine...is there something I'm missing here? I'm on 1.1.1 with Avalon and use this KB simply because of the sex appeal, but I'm still typing more slowly than with my d2 keyboards. Seriously, does anybody know the technical reason why Google hasn't implemented this? Or is it that the port is just lacking it bit the official build has it? So confused.

    On a positive note, I've finally started on my first apk project. Thanks Stephen for motivation to actually download and configure my IDE and workspace! You rock.