Anyone still use SetCPU?

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by lemodular, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. lemodular
    Offline

    lemodular New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I liked having so many controls in setcpu, UD only has minimum and maximum. Which do you use? I am currently using UD's but thinking about going back to setcpu.
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I haven't used setcpu in months now. It was constantly on my phone before that. Now the roms do it for me. I'm convinced it helped my battery usage too.
  3. AFX
    Offline

    AFX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to use SetCPU, but now I only use built-in overclocking. It's a lot more stable for me and I've noticed an increase in battery life.
  4. elucid
    Offline

    elucid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose
    Interesting. I use setcpu for the temp guards. Ive been nervous to oc without them
  5. MarkY3130
    Offline

    MarkY3130 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    I use it for the temp controls as well
  6. gonrada
    Offline

    gonrada New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    I also use it for the temp controls.
    I'll go w/o once rom's give me that kind of control.
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hmm...maybe I'll try removing SetCPU for a day or so.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  8. EricTheRed760
    Offline

    EricTheRed760 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Desert, Ca
    I still use setCPU. My phone hasn't ever had any issues while running it, and I use it to conserve battery once it drops bellow 20%.

    Sent from my rooted D1
  9. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Built in oc gives poor quadrant and linpack for me. I still use setcpu

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. WishRyder
    Offline

    WishRyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I use SetCPU so my maximum clock speed scales down as my battery percentage drops. 100%=1000mhz, 90%=900mhz, 80%=800mhz, etc until my battery is dead.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010
  11. Rodeojones
    Offline

    Rodeojones New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomer, WI
    I still use SetCPU because of the above reasons mentioned and because I like the ability to underclock when the phone is in sleep/standby.
  12. grinchy
    Offline

    grinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeland,FL

    +1

    ***Sent from the OG Droid***
  13. WishRyder
    Offline

    WishRyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    That too. And to underclock just in case it happens to start overheating.

    SetCPU profiles offer so much, I can't believe people don't use it.
  14. VingInMedina
    Offline

    VingInMedina Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    I also use SetCPU for all the reasons already mentioned. Prevent overheating and to preserve battery once it starts running down.
  15. VolDroid
    Offline

    VolDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I use Setcpu for all of the above mentioned.
  16. sonnydroid
    Offline

    sonnydroid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I use SetCPU as well, to underclock while in sleep mode...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  17. chadwickity
    Offline

    chadwickity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you check the bug thread for UD 2.5 you'll notice that built in overclocking is not working for some people. I had no idea, Yeah I noticed increased battery life over set cpu but it was because I was only clocked to 600mhz. Which also explains the poor quadrant scores. I had to go back to setCPU for now, although I did prefer the built in overclocking when it was working.
  18. guitarboy1193
    Offline

    guitarboy1193 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stevensville, MD
    i used to use setCPU and had it up and running everyday all day
    i loved my profiles; underclocking when the screen was off and when battery ran down
    it helped battery life and worked well
    but i like built in overclocking because it saves RAM memory space for other apps, and if you use and ondemand or interactive governor seems to be even better for battery than my setCPU profiles. been getting 10+ hours battery recently, more than i used to get with BuglessBeast and SetCPU
  19. crg31953
    Offline

    crg31953 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also still use SetCpu, it's a super clean app that does what its supposed to. The ability to use the profiles does great things for battery life and temp protection. Never leave home without it!