Anyone see your Maxx sucking Data?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by valglbgl, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    We have a Maxx on our place
    It was an insurance replacement for a Maxx HD. I have noticed the data on this phone has doubled in a few months even though she is on WiFi most all day. I'm wondering if the phone has an issue and should be replaced.
     
  2. xeene

    xeene Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +497
    Check which app uses data
     
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15,228
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Go into settings, data usage.. It will show which apps are using your data.. A likely candidate is Facebook.. There's an option to predownload videos now.. And it's on by default
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    It's Google+. She doesn't even use that apple. How can I disable that?
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15,228
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Go into apps, all, google+, clear cache, clear data, uncheck the "receive updates" box.. Then tap disable.. You're good to go..
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    Oh thank you!!!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15,228
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Very welcome.. :)
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Maybe easier is settings / Google (under accounts) / tap the google account and uncheck Google+ so it won't sync data.
     
  9. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15,228
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Perhaps easier.. But I like to disable apps I don't use.. But great idea.. I turned my Google sync off a long time ago.. For Gmail and everything.. That way it only syncs when I want it to.
     
  10. jfriend33

    jfriend33 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Actually the phone is probably downloading ota updates. How long has the phone been in use?

    Sent from my unlocked consumer edition Motorola Droid Maxx xt1080m.
     
  11. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    6 months
     
  12. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15,228
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Do you have your apps set to auto update? Depending on the amount of data the app was using.. That could be it.
     
  13. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    No. They only update on WiFi
     
  14. jfriend33

    jfriend33 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'd say search for how to run in safe mode. Then you can target if it's an app issue, right?

    I'd say backup your texts with sms backup and restore. Then factory reset, then take the latest update.

    Sent from my unlocked consumer edition Motorola Droid Maxx xt1080m.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15,228
    Likes Received:
    2,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Idk if I'd go that far.. If it's a only rogue app. That's a lot to do.. But if you don't mind that.. And you feel like putting all of your music and pics back on the phone. Then feel free.. But if it's just one app, you could easily remedy it by monitoring your data usage.. .. Also you haven't said what exactly, your idea of "a lot of data" is.. Turn off background sync and you'll use less than you would with it on.. But does that mean you're using a lot of data with sync on??? That's subjective..

    Remember.. This device hasn't got an SD card.. If your data isn't backed up, and you reset.. It's gone... Just letting you know..

    But going with a fdr will give you a factory fresh device.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
Search tags for this page

my new droid maxx is sucking up data