Anyone see your Maxx sucking Data?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by valglbgl, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +5
    We have a Maxx on our place
    It was an insurance replacement for a Maxx HD. I have noticed the data on this phone has doubled in a few months even though she is on WiFi most all day. I'm wondering if the phone has an issue and should be replaced.
     
  2. xeene

    xeene Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,551
    Likes Received:
    657
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +752
    Check which app uses data
     
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,787
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Go into settings, data usage.. It will show which apps are using your data.. A likely candidate is Facebook.. There's an option to predownload videos now.. And it's on by default
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +5
    It's Google+. She doesn't even use that apple. How can I disable that?
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,787
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Go into apps, all, google+, clear cache, clear data, uncheck the "receive updates" box.. Then tap disable.. You're good to go..
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +5
    Oh thank you!!!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,787
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Very welcome.. :)
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Maybe easier is settings / Google (under accounts) / tap the google account and uncheck Google+ so it won't sync data.
     
  9. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,787
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Perhaps easier.. But I like to disable apps I don't use.. But great idea.. I turned my Google sync off a long time ago.. For Gmail and everything.. That way it only syncs when I want it to.
     
  10. jfriend33

    jfriend33 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Actually the phone is probably downloading ota updates. How long has the phone been in use?

    Sent from my unlocked consumer edition Motorola Droid Maxx xt1080m.
     
  11. valglbgl

    valglbgl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +5
  12. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,787
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Do you have your apps set to auto update? Depending on the amount of data the app was using.. That could be it.
     
Search tags for this page

my new droid maxx is sucking up data