1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Anyone Not Able to Tether? (Even with Hack?)

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by BenD, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. BenD
    Offline

    BenD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anybody else having this problem?
    I seem to be having a problem tethering and I see no one else dealing with it. I did the whole SQLite editor trick, and it worked the first time I made a connection with my laptop, using the Verizon app, but the next day it wouldn't work anymore; I can make a connection still but I don't get any internet - limited access. I've used pretty much all the third party wifi apps to no avail; barnacle, garden, pdanet, wifi tether, etc. (not that they worked in the first place)

    I naturally got the idea that maybe Verizon was able to detect what I was doing and has somehow silently disabled me from doing it again. I'm not sure if thats the case or I'm doing something wrong. All I know is that I'm reading plenty of people used this hack and are happily tethering while I'm stuck without it.

    My phone is rooted using this method:How to: Root the Motorola DROID Bionic - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog
    What I've tried so far: rebooting, airplane mode to reset signal, CDMA only, connecting and disconnecting multiple times, changing the channel, changing the Lan ID, used different apps, and I've done all of these in multiple combinations. Nothing works.

    Any ideas, suggestions, advice, work-arounds? Is anyone else in the same boat as me?
    Thank you,

    BenD
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    It's my understanding that we can not tether without it going to the Verizon tethering page. So you can, but you have to pay Verizon for it.
  3. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can for free if rooted

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Not the Bionic.
  5. jrshelton13
    Offline

    jrshelton13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where ever the Marine Corps sends me
    I have had no problem tethering my laptop with my Bionic. I was messing around with it the other day and hooked it up with the USB that came with the phone and hit the USB Tether block in the wireless networks section and, bam! I had internet on my computer. No Verizon page or anything strange, brought me right to my homepage.

    Only thing I can think of is I am rooted and am grandfathered with the unlimited data, not sure if that makes a difference or not. I hope you get it figured out!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh, my bad then

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  7. pastor_rob
    Offline

    pastor_rob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    I am rooted ... and am using open garden ... and it says I am connected ... but no other device is able to connect to my Bionic ... so I am NOT getting tethering ... though I am rooted and using the right apps.

    I guess Verizon is NOT letting us do it ... come what may ... I have read in some places about a work around ... but I am NOT at that level yet.

    I can't seem to get any roms installed ... because when I use the bootstrap to recover boot ... it just reboots my phone ... doesn't let me backup and restore or add a new rom ... try the researching and asking questions ... but not getting any answers as of yet.

    I know that's unrelated ... but that is why ... tethering is NOT high on my list yet ... I just noticed that I couldn't do it ... and left it alone ... for now!!!

    Peace
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I sort of erroneously was speaking of wireless tethering only. USB tethering may be totally different. However, from what I've read (and it was on the internet so it MUST be true!!) that Verizon can monitor their tethering apps and tell who has been using them. Don't know if that's true or not, even though I read it on the internet!!

    Good luck to all.
  9. bigkhan
    Offline

    bigkhan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I have been regularly using wireless tether for the past month. Still works and the verizon swat team hasnt come to get me yet.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  10. jzmax22
    Offline

    jzmax22 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I set tether up last night using the SQL hack and it worked great.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  11. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Correct Steps & Settings And VZW SWAT!?

    ​I have a rooted bionic as well. The only thing you need is sql editor and the stog 3g hotspt app. Set the entitlement check field to 0 and reboot phone. the best settings i have found is channel 1 and client (DHCP) start address to 192.168.22.2 from the default 192.168.42.2. save and restart hot spot. It is a little touchy at first connect so you may have to reset hotspot after you have saved the wireless network into your computer. Also be patient once you've done this all let it connect one minute or so. It will connect, drop, connect, drop 3 times or so and even give you a limited connectivity or no internet access message. If you are patient enough to wait it out it will connect with full internet in no longer than a minute in my experience. It has worked flawlessly on my bionic 10+ times as i am always tweaking, switching roms, demonstrating to others, etc. It has also worked on two of my friends bionics. As far as the vzw swat team there is no such thing. I have multiple vzw reps as friends, ranking up into middle management, and speak to them daily about different rumors i hear and the procedures that they follow. As of now they have no way of monitoring anything done on your phone except data usage. So other than possibly noticing a spike in data usage there is little to worry about. But coming form an X to the bionic my data spiked well before the wifi work around due to the 4g capability and the different apps that come with the bionic (NFL Mobile Streaming, Zumocast, etc). Hell that was the main selling point for vzw on the bionic. Hope this helps.
    3 people like this.
  12. Cinoib
    Offline

    Cinoib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had no issues with SqLite hack. I have taken care not to go past say 5 gigs in my first cycle so I don't get noticed.

    I am grandfathered.

    So far no black helicopters have landed.

    Truth is I hacked another phone prior to getting the Bionic. I was hacked through more then one cycle. Again, no black helicopters.

    I believe the key is not to use 32 gigs of data. Don't stand out. Don't attract the geek club at Verizon.

    By the way, I didn't have to change that address number either.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  13. BenD
    Offline

    BenD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    jtsativa420, thank you so much for your explanation! I think I was being impatient. I can't believe i've been putting so much effort into changing settings on the phone, downloading apps, etc. when all I had to do was just wait a little longer until it fully connected :wacko:

    Problem Solved. Thank you everybody who replied! :)

    -Ben
  14. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Sometimes the answer is simple and just right under our noses. :) I have patience problems. I want it to work and work now. That is the only reason I signed up for DF is to post on this thread cause it would've drove me crazy. Glad i could help.
  15. shooter
    Offline

    shooter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not rooted - yet - but, I have EasyTetherPro ($9.99, Polyclef Software) and it works like a charm.
  16. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Yes it does, but only through usb. We are referring to wireless tethering and for free! :) What's the hold up on rooting?
  17. shooter
    Offline

    shooter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I figure USB and $10 is a cheap alternative to get it now...

    I'm waiting for a Cyanogenmod version for the Bionic to root it. Had Cyanogen for the Droid 1 and loved it.
  18. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Yes it was a very nice rom. I installed it for a friend of mine and played with it for a few days. You can still root now, remove bloat and tether for free. Then when the mod drops you are just a flash away.
  19. bronskrat
    Offline

    bronskrat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BTW, PDANet also works for USB tether but blocks 443 in the free version. The full version costs like $16 too! I know this thread is about wireless but I thought I'd spread this around anyway.
  20. jjbinks82
    Offline

    jjbinks82 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've rooted, installed, unstalled the various Unleashed roms then reverted back to stock several times back and forth and have used the SQLITE hack everytime.

    With each installation and hack I've had to utilize a different method (changing the IP address, security channels, etc) each time to get a connection and have always been able connect.

    During my trials I learned I could always connect regardless of the tweeks using the SQLITE hack when I didn't secure my connection.

    Try the SQLITE hack but dont secure your connection with a password. Just let it be unsecured and change your device connections from 8 to 2.

    With your line unsecured don't worry about someone milking off of your connection (which is why you need to set it to 2). With you're laptop connected it leaves only one open connection.

    Any additional devices that connects after your second port is taken connects to you're Bionic but will not connect to the net and take bandwidth. I'd connect an iPod or something myself so that second port is taken. For extra security you can always kill the hotspot when you're not using it too.

    Another option for security is to set your options on your Bionic to only allow specific devices via their MAC addresses. Even with an unsecured connection only MAC addresses saved on your Bionic will receive a connection.

    Hope this works for you.

    Shot to you from my EVER DEFIANT ROOTED DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

192.168.42.2

,

atrix 2 tethering hack

,
atrix 2 tethering limited connection
,
atrix hotspot connected but no
,
dhcp setting atrix client start address
,
not able to tether
,
open garden wifi tether worked with old computer, but only l
,
tethering entitlement vzw sql editor
,
wireless tether atrix 2 not working