Anyone having trouble getting DL09 Update?

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by wolfman4u, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. wolfman4u

    wolfman4u Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just wondering if anyone else is having trouble getting the DL09 update? Since I am not in my "home" area, i cannot receive OTA updates. I called support and they first said to wait to see if it comes through. It didn't. I called back support and they told me to go to the nearest verizon store and they would update me. I went and they looked at me funny and sent me on my way. I called support back and they said I have to take it into the store, so tomorrow i go back to the store. This is getting crazy, but wondering if anyone else is having trouble getting the update?
     
  2. Katnipthief

    Katnipthief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did u try going to home area? Did support tell u to dial *228? Are u rooted? Did u try manual check?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  3. wolfman4u

    wolfman4u Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    My home area is 1600 miles away (Kansas city, Mo. Vs Spokane, WA). I am not rooted. They did not ask me to try *228 but someone on a previous threadmentioed it so have done that numerous times. Yes I have tried the manual update at least 5000 times. The only thing that support checked on was to be sure Spokane is a 3g digital area and it is.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  4. Mylt1

    Mylt1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Settings, apps, manage apps, innopath, clear cashe. Then try to update.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  5. wolfman4u

    wolfman4u Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried as per above post. The cache showed 0.0 and the button was grayed out. I am heading to Verizon right now so they can put the update on for me.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  6. wolfman4u

    wolfman4u Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Update: OMG. Verizon store tried an OTA update and nothing. I told her I wasn't in my home area and she said she couldn't help me and politely sent me on my way. I called support and they wanted to speak to her and about 15 seconds later they decided to replace the phone with an updated version. (And of course they didn't have one.) The crazy part of this is she told me NO verizon store in the country can touch a smartphone or update it. Hard to know who knows what these days. So I will be updated tomorrow. I hope it is easy to transfer apps?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  7. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did you move to Spokane? If so get livid and angry and yell that you're not spending a plane ticket to update your phone.

    8pened!
     
  8. Otiebenoti

    Otiebenoti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't get the update either. I'm in a small city in Ohio in between Cleveland and Columbus. I couldn't get the October one either. Usually when I try, I get bounced back out to the Innopath screen. Just now I got the "service not available" screen. When I called Verizon in October, I was told to be happy I didn't get it. When I got the phone, the salesperson told me I'd have Google and Flash with the update. The GPS is way off. I've had the phone 4 months. I'm frustrated reading people who just got theirs already have the update. Guess I'm headed to Verizon tomorrow to see what they tell people in Ohio.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  9. wolfman4u

    wolfman4u Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    update: mylt1 above posted to clean cache to get it to work but I was playing with it and the same thing but hit the clear data button above the cache one and it updated. Many thanks to mylt1. Not sure what to do with the new phone they are shipping me. Keep or return and keep the old one??????

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  10. Otiebenoti

    Otiebenoti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woe is me. Just tried clearing data and then updating. This time I got "Please wait" for a long time. Then I got the message there is no update available. Now what? Go to Verizon?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Otiebenoti

    Otiebenoti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried again and got the update message. The update started, and then I got the message the battery is low and to plug in the charger. It is not low. It is completely charged. I plugged in the charger and tried again. I got the message asking if I wanted to continue the deferred update. I said OK, and then I got the message the battery was low and to plug in the charger. It IS plugged in. Any suggestions?

    I took the battery out and tried again. I actually got an update to go through. It was DI01. Once that finished, I checked and had another one. It was DL09 finally. Thank you all. I have read many threads on this forum. Putting them together got me through this.
     
    #11 Otiebenoti, Jan 19, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  12. Mylt1

    Mylt1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i knew it was one of them. LOL. dont forget, anyone else reading this, you need WiFi off to get the update. has to come over the cell data.
     
Search tags for this page

innopath activecare fascinate