anyone having problems with rm/cw and sprecovery follow this

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by pc747, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,522
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Trophy Points:
    113
    install a terminal emulator (I prefer j android hacker but its up to you) and the install sprecovery 99.3b. Use the terminal emulator to flash sprecovery image


    Push sprecovery using terminal emulator, if that do not work then use rsdlite.

    here is the file: MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

    place sprecovery file on the root of your sdcard DO NOT RENAME

    here are the directions:
    19. Open Terminal Emulator and type DO NOT TYPE THE QUOTATION MARKS!
    "su" press enter and allow
    "flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-0.99.3b.img"
    "reboot recovery"
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  2. PDR447
    Offline

    PDR447 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also, Rom Manager 2.0 was just released today with a lot of error checking in place. mainly checking for issues with stuff before attempting to install. check it out. should be a great update. problems now need to be reported to devs so that they fix their install zips. I know one issue was spaces in filenames.

    also, for recovery, there's been an option in RM for a few revs not to erase recovery before flashing a new version. this is helpful! look for it in settings.
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,522
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Trophy Points:
    113
    those having an issue with getting into sprecovery or in any recovery. I simulated the failure.
    If you can not get into recovery you can follow the op, but if you just want to get into cw recovery then download the clockwork recovery file and follow the same steps but just substitute SP with CW.
  4. Captmilk
    Offline

    Captmilk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Thanks for the help
  5. lordegregious
    Offline

    lordegregious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great help, been having this issue for a week now. I finally just loaded an update to my phone and used sprecovery. Maybe I'll be able to fix Clockwork now, although I imagine that it will get patched before I need to use it again.
  6. necroscopev
    Offline

    necroscopev New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I keep getting a re-read error and write error when i run that command, on every line. It says out of memory. I have 40meg free on my phone and gigs open on my sdcard so i do not know what the problem is. I have tried doing the flash between sp and cm over and over and that does not help either. Any ideas what i can do? I really want to either install a faster kernel or restore a backup that CM worked properly.
  7. hairman512
    Offline

    hairman512 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i need sopme help pleese i was using droid root helper and on the second group 2nd one down i pushed to do an install now stuck on the word droid half on and freezes now cant get into recovery with power x just keeps going back to motorola emblem HEEELLPPP pleese email is kaije32@hotmail if any one has a fix thank you any and all i love this site and learned a lot here ,sorry not such a great typer
  8. bracemg
    Offline

    bracemg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried this a number of times. Downloaded the extracted file to my sdcard root. Gone to terminal emulator. Typed in "su" with no quotes. Typed in "flash_image /sdcard/recovery-0.99.3b.img" and I keep getting flash_image: not found. Any idea why?

    Thanks
  9. bracemg
    Offline

    bracemg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't get this to work. I am downloading and extracting the file, and putting it on my sdcard root. Afterwards I type in terminal emulator:

    su
    flash_image /scard/recovery-0.99.3b.img

    Everytime I get flash_image: not found

    What's up with that? Thanks.
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,522
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Trophy Points:
    113
    test....................
  11. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    moved per OP's request............
  12. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    If you are wanting to stay with RM and CW then here are a couple of steps to follow that should help you when using ROM Manager and ClockworkMod

    First, always clear the download cache in ROM Manager. To do this go into RM > menu > clear download cache. It is a good practice to do this before you download anything in RM.

    Second, if available, always use WiFi when flashing/downloading anything in RM. RM seems to like WiFi better than 3G. RM seems to download faster and cleaner when using WiFi.

    Third, if you are still experiencing troubles with RM, make sure you have BOTH the paid and free versions of RM. To check go to your market > menu > downloads. Once the list populates look for both RM free and RM premium.

    Lastly, you can try to fix permissions in RM. This sometimes fixes the unusual force closes and such. I usually do this as a very last resort.

    Hope this helps you out if you are wanting to use RM/CW.
Search tags for this page

android terminal out of memory

,
sprecovery 99.3b free