Anyone having memory issues?

Discussion in 'Koush' started by dbu, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. dbu
    Offline

    dbu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Several times since I have flashed CM6 (I am not a noob, and yes I wipe everything every time because I am just anal like that) I have been having increasing memory issues. Example, my phone was slowing down earlier so I decided to look at the memory usage and there were 3 apps running (facebook, handcent, and HTC_IME) and my available memory was like 33MB! How is this possible, I am usually able to run many apps at the same time with no memory problems at all. This happened with stock kernel, slayher kernel, P3 kernel, with compcache, without compcache, I am really stumped.
     
  2. Maverick0984
    Offline

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I could be wrong, but I usually see low 30's for RAM available. I don't think this is by coincidence and could be a Froyo thing.

    You must certainly have several other things taking up memory.

    Whatever memory usage app you are using to display the current apps running is either wrong, or has some filter applied. I wouldn't get too worked up over it, it is doing what it should.
     
  3. gotta have that funk
    Offline

    gotta have that funk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so what? when something needs memory it'll get it. you arent gonna run out of memory...it'll kill something to free up memory no matter what.
     
  4. AlphaMack
    Offline

    AlphaMack Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try these settings found in the CM performance settings:

    - JIT enabled
    - Surface dithering enabled
    - Home app persistence
    - 32m virtual memory heap size

    and reboot. See if the sluggishness goes away. If not, you might have some kind of rogue app leaking memory.
     
  5. biglipps66
    Offline

    biglipps66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    My JIT and compcache are both enable correctly and when I went from 16mb of ram virtual mem setting to 32 my phone took a complete crap on me until I switched it back.

    Try switching up the memory settings. It literally made the difference of me being happy when the stock cm6 flash, changing the settings and wanting to smash it, then ending back at stock again and it running amazing.
     
  6. biglipps66
    Offline

    biglipps66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do notice sometimes if it slows down itll dip into the low 15-11mb free range. Thats when I notice a huge slowdown. Im still trying to tweak some settings heres and there to see what happens. 33mb is usually what I average though and its smokin fast for damn sure.
     
  7. ebe3692
    Offline

    ebe3692 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i have noticed memory problems too.
    I have been getting issues with google maps ever since changing to CM6. I frequently use the traffic view and since updating I have gotten a message saying - shutting off traffic due to low memory. even happens right after a fresh boot...
    has been better since i disabled dithering
     
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    33MB is quite a bit of available memory, actually, once the phone's been in use for a while. Enjoy it. Android is smart enough to work with low memory -- it's actually designed to do so.

    Any other issues you're having are probably due to low internal STORAGE not RAM. Start moving crap to the SD card. :)
     
Search tags for this page

droid x2 running out of virtual memory

,

where to look for virtual memory on droid x