Anyone having Google Maps problems with tb

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by Charles998, Mar 31, 2011.

  1. Charles998

    Charles998 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone experienced problems with google maps on the tb.
    1. Problems like taking several minutes to obtain your location. (on 3g)

    2. Consistently not getting your correct location. (on 3g)

    3. losing directions while navigating (on 3g)

    I have deleted maps then re-installed it, but same issues remain. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. johnny9i6

    johnny9i6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same problem but now its fixed. Just dial ##778#, select edit- password is 000000 and then select modem and scroll down to "rev a" and enable then press menu and confirm change and you should be good.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  3. Charles998

    Charles998 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does this actually do?
     
  4. johnny9i6

    johnny9i6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Charles998

    Charles998 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok did it and gps location is 1.5 miles from acutal location. I did several checks with the gps and I followed the directions exactly. thank you for the help. Maybe this will get better with another update.
     
  6. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    actually mine was sort of strange, hit the blue navigation app that comes with it...perfect directions but no voice, so checked all sound settings was set right , they were....then finally got home opened google maps, set a route and then hit start and voice...then closed everything then just hit the blue nav arrow..sound again..was funny.
     
  7. johnny9i6

    johnny9i6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon is having problems with their 3g/4g at the moment but if you go to the link that i included on my last post then it should fix your gps location. I've done it and reboot the phone after and now my gps is working perfectly fine.
     
  8. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that I figured out how to get sounds working used to map way home other day and cause I never used google maps when it says arriving at location picture of my house comes up. I knew on internet you can do street view just never had a phone that used maps.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
     
  9. chazcarter

    chazcarter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reply for johnny9i6 on the 3G 4G issues

    Hey johnny9i6,
    I followed your directions and my phone SEEMS to be better (for now, excuse me I just cant trust anyone on the NET these days) Anyway - By making this change to my HTC Thunderbolt, will I be able to "update my roaming capabilities"? (IE: *228 opt. 2) I've been trying to do so, and it automatically just disconnects when I dial and attempt to connect. If I wanted to revert back to the setting I had prior to following your directions - What steps would I use? If you dont mind.

    Thanks,
    Chaz
     
  10. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    *228 don't work on these phones due to the network we are on thus always knows where we are. But my maps working great. No need to update roaming

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  11. johnny9i6

    johnny9i6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0

    *228 will not work on the thunderbolt. If you want to revert back then just follow the same steps and change the settings.
     
  12. johnny9i6

    johnny9i6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, if your phone is rooted like mine. There is a new radio fix update that just came out a day ago and it improves gps location, audio for video playback, and a few other things. To take a look at this, i included a link below. And best of luck to you.

    [RUU] 4-18-2011 | New Rom + Radio 1.16.00.402 FIXES! - Android Forums
     
Search tags for this page
anyone having problems with google maps
,
google maps doesnt work thunderbolt
,

google maps not working on thunderbolt

,
google maps on android thunderbolt
,
thunderbolt update to map