Anyone else's D2 freeze and reboot on them for no reason?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by PinoyDroid, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. PinoyDroid
    Offline

    PinoyDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone,

    I'm not sure if its just me or not, but does anyone have a clue as to why my D2 randomly freezes, goes black, and then reboots itself at various points during the day? Does anyone else have this problem? Its happened at least 4 times today and its been like that for a few weeks. I can tell when its about to happen because the lights for the "menu, home, back and search button" on the bottom stay lit and I cant press them nor can I press anything on the screen and pressing the lock button does nothing.

    Some background info:
    -I am not rooted
    -Im not sure if this is the reason, but I'm running launcherpro the paid one and widgetlocker.

    Other than that I see no reason as to why my phone keeps doing it.

    Any input would be great. Thanks
  2. DESERPENTOR
    Offline

    DESERPENTOR Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Droid Turbo
    You are not alone my screen goes black and unresponsive then I try pressing the power button and nothing happens a few minutes later phone reboots

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. joe000
    Offline

    joe000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea mine to pain in the ass it always seems to happen when I need to make a call it happens about once a day

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  4. PinoyDroid
    Offline

    PinoyDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow ok its a relief that im not alone, but at the same time sucks because we still have the problem.
    im trying to rule a few things out so are you both running launcherpro or some other type of home replacement?
    I cant really put my thumb on a specific reason as to why it happens so im just throwing some possible stuff out there
  5. devinhfox
    Offline

    devinhfox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happens to me too. Using launcher pro

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    This question does get asked frequently but I'll be happy to answer again.

    If your D2 is resetting on it's own, something is wrong. Now that doesn't mean run back to the Verizon Store you probably have an app causing an issue. The two most notorious are Task Killers and antivirus. if you are running either of those remove them.

    That may or may not fix the problem. If it doesn't you need to do a hard factory data reset. Run your Droid for a couple of days with just the stock apps. If there is no reset then slowly start adding your apps again. Once you have reinstalled the apps take notice as to when it starts restarting again. You should be able to identify the problem application.

    If it does reset immediately after doing a factory data reset, then take the phone back.
  7. PinoyDroid
    Offline

    PinoyDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you for your help! i did actually have lookout running with the antivirus part. I disabled it but kept the missing device part activated. would that be alright or do i have to remove lookout entirely?
  8. wyzzerdd
    Offline

    wyzzerdd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    This happens to my droid 2 every few days and I actually am running Lookout antivirus and task killer lol. I'll try uninstalling them to see if that helps.
  9. rustydogg
    Offline

    rustydogg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you guys even get Launcher pro to run on a unrooted phone?
    I tried installing it before I flashed Liberty 1.5 to mine and it didn't work.
    The screen would just go black I think. All I remember is that it didn't work so I took if off.
  10. jfrancis
    Offline

    jfrancis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,

    I had this exact same problem, and it was infuriating. However, switching from Launcher Pro to ADW Launcher EX solved it for me.

    Regards,
    John Francis
  11. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    This problem has been plaguing my phone for such an incredibly long time. There will be periods of weeks where it won't reboot a single time, then there will be some days where it does it 3 times a day, several times a week.

    I am running the paid version of launcherpro and I have lookout too. I've been unable to pinpoint the problem so far. I have found that when I end all tasks, that the problem goes away for a few hours. The four lights on the bottom don't stay lit, freeze, and possibly reboot my phone. I'm going to disable the antivirus part of lookout though and just keep it for the backup part.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  12. PinoyDroid
    Offline

    PinoyDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright well heres my update:

    ive listened to hookbill's comment and i disabled lookout. I just disabled the antivirus part and kept the missing device and backup parts still activated. I am still running launcherpro the paid version and everything is actually working smoothly for me.

    i havent had one reboot since nor has the screen frozen. the menu, home, back, and search button lights have not stayed lit while i lock the phone and everything is working swell. Im glad that its going well, only time will tell though if i really fixed the problem.

    ive been running launcherpro for quite a while, since i got the phone actually and my problems havent started since a few weeks back so it cant be launcherpro..at least in my case. so im definitely thinking its the antivirus
  13. PinoyDroid
    Offline

    PinoyDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    deleted. misread the very end of your post. as i said above i think the disabling of antivirus should do it, also like hookbill said it could be the task killer.
  14. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this problem for so long with lookout installed, then I uninstalled about a week or so ago. I didn't notice that it stopped rebooting itself till I read Hook's comment. Thanks, now I know not to reinstall! dancedroid
  15. khelek
    Offline

    khelek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just noticed this problem myself and was excited to see suggestions it might be because of lookout since I have it installed. However I've actually had the antivirus disabled and the problem occurs anyway. But I'm glad I'm not the only one.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

does lookout app cause freezes

,

droid 2 freezing while turning on