Solved Anyone else having this issue?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by SquireSCA, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    If I am logged into the forum, it is barely usable. It took several attempts to even create this thread.

    If I am logged in, the forum stalls, it times out. Clicking on a thread has it sitting there thinking for a minute and then redirects me to the main news page. Or I just get a blank screen...

    If I log out and just view as a guest, the forum works perfectly. Fast, responsive, no time outs or delays. It works fine.

    Log back in, barely usable, often taking 4 or 5 attempts to get a page to load. Does it in both IE(Edge, in Win10) and Chrome, which is really weird. Log back out, forum works fine.

    How can the forum barely work if I am logged in, but totally fine if I am a guest?

    Did I piss someone off and get a special setting applied to my account that makes it really hard to use the forum or something? LOL
     
  2. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    Additionally, I have tried a win7 laptop, a Linux laptop and my phone. Guest works fine. If I log into my account, it all goes to hell.

    This can't be an issue with a particular machine or browser if 3 different computers with different os's and browsers, and a mobile device all have the same issue.

    The second I log in, the forum runs like dial up, times out, weird redirects and make it nearly impossible to use. Once I finally manage to log out, suddenly it starts working fine? On all 4 devices?
     
    #2 SquireSCA, Jan 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2016
  3. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,606
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,834
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    I'm not seeing those issues on my PC or through Tapatalk. There might be a few ways we can troubleshoot this. But lets see if the admins have some ideas
     
  4. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    It is really weird. If I am not logged in, forum is at 100% for speed and user experience.

    If I log into the forum, drops to 5-10% and I can barely get to things, read or post. Takes several attempts and timeouts to reply to you here.

    If i log out, everything runs great but i obviously can't post. Been like this for a few weeks now.

    Thought it was related to a win10 update, but the problem exists on my Nexus 6, and a win7 and Linux box. Doesn't matter what browser. Have not tried Tapatalk. But this has to be something related to my account to get the exact same results on 4 different devices with 4 different operating systems and 4 different browsers...
     
  5. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    I'll check your account @SquireSCA to see if anything unusual exists..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    Ironically, the only device that seems affected by this, is my iPad.

    But with the other 4 devices, I just checked and they are all able to browse the entire forum with ease, quickly and reliably. The second I log into my account, they all stop working properly and I can barely use the forum...

    This is very frustrating that out of 5 devices, the only one I can use to access an android forum, is an Apple device. Lol
     
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,532
    Likes Received:
    7,090
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,437
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    That's funny. Sorry for the rest of you troubles, but I can't help but chuckle at that.

    @Jeffrey did you get a chance to check out Squire's account to see if anything was amiss?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    The account looks fine. I would clear cache on all devices and see if that fixes the issue..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    That is really weird. Now it seems to work ok. How could I have the same problem though, on 4 different machines with 4 different OS's and using 4 different browsers? I even tried different browsers on the same machine and had the same problem...

    Crazy....
     
  10. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Sounds like my years of being a Verizon costumer. No matter the device, my signal sucked. No matter the location, my signal sucked. Had an iPad that was 3g capable on AT&T and its signal was excellent.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    Beast Mode 4
    <><
     
  11. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    • Like Like x 1
  12. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Strange!
    Could it be cause you're perusing Android forums on an Apple device? Have you tried seeing how it performs visiting an Apple forum? Could be some newfangled Apple code to dissuade their sheeple from rubbing elbows with the competition. I know it's a stretch....just spit ballin here. That's an odd one for sure!
    Ghost in the machine I reckon:confused:

    S5 tap'n