1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Anyone else having a non-positive experience w/Droid?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Pagaldesi4life, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. Pagaldesi4life
    Offline

    Pagaldesi4life New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My frustrations have come as of recently (past few weeks) with my Moto Droid, mainly the responsiveness of the applications. Seems like a lot of mine tend to force close, but the most problematic to me is the actual dialer. There are times where the dialer will freeze or lag, I'll press send once, nothing will happen, press again, still nothing, then 2 mins later the call will go through and call again since I pressed it twice only to say "call ended". Does this problem happen to anyone else or is it just me??
  2. smd12
    Offline

    smd12 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had the same problem trying to make a call it seemed to lock up and i needed to turn phone off and turn back on to get it to work. after the second time going back to verizon they gave me a new phone.

    i am still having problems syncing to gmail even tho i followed the advice in the different threads.
  3. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Sounds to me like you've got some issues with apps you've downloaded...If you could provide a list of which ones are force-closing...if not which ones you've got installed period, some of us here could probably help you troubelshoot. Also, if the "Force Close" offers you the choice to wait, it's actually called an ANR (Application Not Responding). That simply means that the app is busy and taking longer than usual to do what it's trying to do. In MOST cases, pushing wait is acceptable.

    As for the dialer, that may be caused by a bad handset as was the case with the post above mine. The only problem I've EVER had with the dialer was trying to apply a theme to it that wasn't made to work with my rom (I'm rooted, but my actual advice here holds true whether you are or not)
  4. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes with the camera now on two droids in a different way then just taking pictures. bottom-line the droid chokes on even starting the camera up and or cannot even take a video.

    two things i can pinpoint and not sure which it is:
    1- the sd cards are terrible / defective
    2- or its a ram issue.

    something is bogging the droid down in my case on two different units.
  5. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Interesting...I just took this video yesterday using the app called Qik, which streams live to the internet... Live streaming takes away some quality and I had it set to "normal" anyway, but it DOES take video...I also took a video with the standard stock camera that I put on Facebook (that one's set to "friends only," and I don't feel like loggin in to change permissions), and the quality is MUCH better even though I was inside in a fairly low-light situation...

    If you choose to watch it, turn your volume down. The wind was more fierce on the mic than it was on my ears. This is a short video of me testing Qik and talking about frozen Lake Michigan on Little Bay de Noc (look real close and you'll see ice-fishing shacks even though it was 45 degrees!)

    the video also saved locally to my phone and has no problem playing. If it's a RAM issue, that may be completely based on what's running in your background. I WILL admit that the camera takes a bit longer than I'd like to start up initially using the camera button long-press method, but I've accepted it, although I believe that the camera icon launched it faster if memory serves...

    Test | United States | By Jonny_Ks

    If anyone uses Qik and would like to add me (still just trying it out) I'm Jonny_Ks

    Also Jonny_Ks on Twitter...
  6. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have heard of qik never looked into really but maybe i will.

    You know i have noticed it getting worse and worse the bootup for camera and video camera so i really think its the sd cards because one droid has nothing on it (my wifes) and mine has tons of apps but they are both acting similar in terms of the lag for the camera bootup etc...

    i also see corruption in the video files taken on the higher quality. it happens alot lately where in the middle of taking a video the entire screen will get all pixelated and sometimes thats where the camera fails flat out and crashes or FC.
  7. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    That's odd...Mine's not very full, but I moved stuff around/rename/delete things just about everyday...I figure that could cause some issues, but I haven't seen any yet...hmmm...You've got me stumped on this one...
  8. Pagaldesi4life
    Offline

    Pagaldesi4life New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jonny, I can deal with most of the applications whenever they force close, those aren't a problem to me. But the dialer is what truly upsets me, its been happening on a daily basis where it would freeze and I would have to restart the phone. I am using the Home++ app right now, I may switch back to the original home app to see if that is the cause of the problem.
  9. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,007
    Likes Received:
    600
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Home++ caused a lot of issues on some users devices. So it is quite possible you are having the same problems.

    Force closes and lag were among the complaints. I'm pretty sure that is the cause of your dialer acting erratic as well.

    Delete the app and run it stock.
  10. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the culprit is Home++. most likely, as CK stated... do a factory reset and a battery pull, and your phone will be fine
  11. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    I'd say that's a solid plan.