Anyone else getting Random Reboots

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Shubox, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. Shubox
    Offline

    Shubox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am getting random reboots just got up this morning grabbed the phone put in the unlock pattern and it rebooted. It also force closes Facebook alot.
  2. cplofhds
    Offline

    cplofhds New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I get random reboots all the time. My husband has the Droid1 and has the same problem. Never has those problems with my Eris. If someone knows the reasons behind this, please let me know.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. Craiger22
    Offline

    Craiger22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you're phones rooted, or stock?
  4. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I got 1 random reboot the first day I got the HTC Thunderbolt but that was because I kinda locked up the messaging app. Haven't had a restart since then.
  5. n0yxl
    Offline

    n0yxl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For those with random reboots...

    Try taking out, and re-inserting the battery. Sometimes a contact can have lint, etc. on it and a poor conection is the result. It's worth a shot!

    No randoms on mine so far. *knocks on wood*
  6. Dr. Carpenter
    Offline

    Dr. Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was getting random reboots from day one. I spent hours in the forums and tinkering with my phone... factory reset, clean battery, format SD, custom roms, overclocking, underclocking, you name it I tried it. Finally gave up and called Verizon, got a refurb the next day, and have had no reboots since. I am convinced it's a hardware issue. My advice is, if your phone is rebooting, don't waste your time, back up your stuff and call Verizon. This has been a known issue since the first week the DX came out and no one has found a fix yet.

    Edit: sorry I just realized this is in the TB forum... saw one poster had a DX tho

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  7. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I'm stock.
  8. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    I had a D1 rooted, no reboots (untill the end when it died), got a X, rooted had a couple reboots, go the TB and not one reboot (***she says as she is knocking on wood***). You may want to make a call to VZW and see if they know of an issue and what they recommend.
  9. Dreamin
    Offline

    Dreamin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 Random reboot about once a day. Stock.
  10. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    None for me. I think you should go exchange it. It's pretty pain free.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  11. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    My Droid and D2 both random rebooted from time to time, but I blamed it on the fact I was rooted and using ROMs.

    Since I got the TB, I have had no reboots, and I have also had no reason to even reboot the phone except for a couple of times to test out the Fast Boot (which I didn't think was much faster at all).
  12. champaned_out
    Offline

    champaned_out New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    havent had a single random reboot since thursday.. if the problem persists you should get it exchanged
  13. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    The fastboot only works on WiFi or 4g. You would definitely notice if if was working every boot in under 15 seconds.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  14. Shubox
    Offline

    Shubox New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is stock and still alot of force closes and reboots I havent done anything to it.
  15. rg0019
    Offline

    rg0019 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone rebooted on me this morning. I was on the treadmill and I was watching my local news on the slingbox app. My phone rebooted within about 1 minute of starting the slingbox app.

    I am stock. The phone was using 3g service.
  16. Dreamin
    Offline

    Dreamin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm up to 3 reboots today. Tried reseating the battery, no help. Guess I'll go back to the VZ store and get it swapped.
  17. pspringer
    Offline

    pspringer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    Thunderbolt Random Reboots

    I'm having the same problem with the random reboots. It didn't start happening until the issue around data connectivity with Verizon occurred today. My phone would just be sitting doing nothing and then, bam, the HTC screen / fastboot. No rhyme or reason but I think it tanks when it can't get a stable data connection after trying, or bouncing between them, for some time. More than likely an issue with how the software handles the hand off of the connections; possibly a memory leak of some type but that's just my opinion. I'm trying a factory reset now but will probably just try to get a replacement.
  18. mom133d
    Offline

    mom133d New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got my first random reboot (that I'm aware of) a few minutes ago. Your theory makes a bit of sense for me, here in my office at work, voice is always fine, but data is sometimes sketchy. This is true for my old Droid, Kindle and Nook. I just got my TB on Friday after much trial and tribulations at the Verizon store.
  19. BIslander
    Offline

    BIslander New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bainbridge Island, WA
    My phone has rebooted spontaneously once or twice a day since I got it on March 15. A factory reset made it worse. So, with the 14 day clock counting down, I swapped out the phone today. So far, so good. But, it's only been a few hours.
  20. Dreamin
    Offline

    Dreamin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How were you able to 'swap out the phone' ?

    When I went to the VZ store... with the exact same problem... they said they had to reproduce the problem in the store, otherwise they cannot exchange it. I said I cannot stand here for 3-4 hours waiting for the phone to reboot. No matter what I suggested... can I cancel my account and get a 'new' thunderbolt? NO. Can I swap to a iphone 4? NO.

    I ended up returning the phone and going back to AT&T. Sad part is I was really happy with the phone... except the reboots.