Anyone else find "You must have WiFi enabled to download" annoying?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by cloud12077, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. cloud12077

    cloud12077 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have unlimited 3G/4G, why on earth should I be required to have WiFi to download an app or additional app data?
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,657
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Yeah it's a bit annoying especially on a 4g device, but these are huge files and they're just keeping in mind the users who don't have unlimited.
     
  3. Chizzele

    Chizzele Team Sourcery
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    It didn't bother my on 3G with my OG but on the Nexus the 4G is faster then my home Wifi so it is very annoying to have to connect just for a download...
     
  4. cloud12077

    cloud12077 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +3
    But I'm talking about when it is required to have WiFi. My WiFi at home is 1/4 the speed of 4G. Example: Amazon will run their app of the day and you can't download the app unless you have a WiFi network. I think it's ridiculous!
     
  5. pheitmeyer

    pheitmeyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have WiFi @ the office and home and leave 4G off to save my battery, but I agree it is stupid to require it.

    Maybe broken downloads don't recover gracefully and the developer has to deal with the support issue.
     
  6. Insidious

    Insidious Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Isn't there some data saver setting where you can toggle whether or not you want that?

    Sent from my Cellular telecommunications device, manufactured by Motorola.
     
    #6 Insidious, Dec 29, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,657
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Again I'm guessing that goes towards the users who don't have unlimited data. They're keeping in mind that the 2 major networks (vzw and at&t) no longer offer unlimited so they choose to use wifi for the larger files.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  8. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've never seen this message. It's it for certain games? Like level packs?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  9. nbucko

    nbucko Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    It's for larger downloads from the market and for the downloads required by apps or games, usually 400-500 mb in size. I see the reason behind it but think there should be an option.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  10. cloud12077

    cloud12077 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +3
    Exactly, I agree there should be the option not the requirement.
     
  11. droidlover1986

    droidlover1986 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I'm always having to turn on 4G on my droid bionic...even if the file size is less than 10MB
     
  12. Deano2423

    Deano2423 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe its actually for games/updates for downloads that require a constant download stream and don't let you continue your download if you exit out of it/lose connection. Wifi is obviously the only stable data stream, and 4g like 3g can drop thus interrupting and corrupting the download.
     
Search tags for this page

does wifi need to be enabled to before downloading an at&t a

,

droid says must have wifi to download?

,

how to download android and they must not require wifi to be

,

why does my droid bionic say that wifi must be enabled to se