anybody get the new swype to work??

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by ucpro, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    the new swype beta came out a couple days ago, but like the last beta, it doesn't type anything as u swype and you can't use the voice messaging, i just get a blue flicker on the sides.

    i have a themed swype that doesn't require the installer that works, but it's based off an older version (no mic). it's maybe 2 versions old now, but works.
    I really want the mic to work though, but since it doesn't work on ud(and maybe other roms), i'm kinda stuck.

    anybody else havin this problem, or know of a fix?
     
  2. sonnydroid
    Offline

    sonnydroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you uninstalled both swype and swype installer?
    Also, use astro and do a search "swype", and delete anything that has swype in it. Reboot. Download New Installer. Enter your account info and install. Should work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    i didn't have an installer to uninstall. i had found an apk that didn't need an installer(not sure if i'm allowed to say that or not). i'll see if the one i have now leaves any extra files though after i uninstall it
     
  4. sonnydroid
    Offline

    sonnydroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you registered to swype beta? It will ask for your account after you install and run the swype installer.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea, i have the installer, but when i finally install the apk from there, the swype part of it and the mic doesn't work. i even tried rebooting after it installed the new keyboard and still didn't work
     
  6. RafficaX
    Offline

    RafficaX Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it may need files removed and added, like lib files and such. if you want to pm me a copy of the apk i can test it out and see whats up.
     
  7. sonnydroid
    Offline

    sonnydroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, I was having the same issue. I uninstalled both swype and installer. searched "swype" in astro and deleted all entries that came up. Rebooted. Downloaded & Installed installer. Rebooted. Ran installer and installed swype. That worked for me.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm tryin it now, i just have a bunch of text files(xml maybe?) and apks for all the other installers that keeps downloading the the swype site

    ok i got it to swype, but still can't use the mic, it's there but it's crossed out, and when i hit it, the sides of the keyboard flashes blue
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
  9. v941726
    Offline

    v941726 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I personally don't see all the interest in swype. ShapeWriter, even though no updates in like forever, is still much better. I just got the new swype and it still sucks. And they make it a half hour install too. F that.
     
  10. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    I am a Beta tester and Swype works fine for me on UD 2.4 - it installed with no issues either
     
  11. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured it out. There were files left behind in data/data,.and also one in the system folder. can't remember the name though. as far as the mic not working, it was because it disables if you use google search or are putting passwords in
     
Search tags for this page
microphone doesnt work on swype
,

swype microphone crossed out