Anybody else having issues with Dialer in GPA14

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by joe1980, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. joe1980
    Offline

    joe1980 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been having some strange problems with the Dialer app in GPA14. This actually started with earlier GPA builds:
    1. If I have my phone set to vibrate, about 1/3 of the time when I answer a call, the phone doesn't stop vibrating. When this happens, the only way to recover is to pull the battery. To get around this, I have my phone set to not vibrate during incoming calls, and I just set the ringer volume way down at work (not ideal, but acceptable for now).
    2. Today, I answered my phone at work, and even though the 'Speaker' indicator was off, the caller was essentially on speakerphone. This was embarrassing because it was a personal call and a lot of my coworkers could hear the first few things that the caller said. I quickly pressed 'End' and called back, and haven't been able to reproduce the problem since.
    Has anybody else experienced any of these problems? Have you found a solution? Can I revert to an older version of the Dialer app from a BB Froyo ROM? I'm wondering if that might fix the problems.
  2. rkeller62
    Offline

    rkeller62 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn't experience any of those problems myself on GPA14 so I'm not sure what is going on. However, Pete has made a lot of improvements in the GPA15 build. Still in beta, but the 4.13 beta is very stable and super smooth. Might want to give it a try.
  3. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    YES!!!!! I thought it was just me.

    Also, sometimes even though by BT headset shows as connected, it only works through the phone's earpiece. Even if I disconnect and reconnect the headset, it won't work right until I reboot the phone.
  4. chiefvelo
    Offline

    chiefvelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not having any of those issues. what apps do you have installed?
  5. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dozens of apps. Do you have an idea of what might be interfering or are you just hunting for a smoking gun for dialer problems?
  6. bplewis24
    Offline

    bplewis24 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not having this problem myself. Have you tried wiping Dalvik Cache in recovery?

    Brandon
  7. chiefvelo
    Offline

    chiefvelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm my experience any slow downs hangs or battery drain ha always come from a crappy app, usually a Free one. Even if it doesn't show up as running at the time I. Think it can affect other apps performance at times.
    I tried a windows 7 home app a few weeks ago and one of the updates broke several things. I flashed over the rom I was using and it seemed to fix it. After I uninstalled it of course.
    Wipe and only install an application at a time that you really use and see if that I what it was.
    I think many Apps are not ready for GB.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. joe1980
    Offline

    joe1980 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to hear that I'm not the only one! I also have dozens of apps installed. I guess I'll post a list of all my apps over the weekend, and we can see what we have in common and hopefully figure out what is causing this.
  9. joe1980
    Offline

    joe1980 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I did do that several times, and have even tried wiping and reinstalling GPA14, and then restoring all my apps.
  10. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I reflashed GPA14 over top of my current install, hoping to fix whatever files were affected. I was going to try a clean install next, but it sounds like that didn't fix it.
  11. joe1980
    Offline

    joe1980 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    myriad46: Here is my list of downloaded apps. Do we have much in common?

    Adobe AIR
    Adobe Flash Player 10.2
    Adobe Reader
    Air Control Lite
    AK Notepad
    Amazon Kindle
    Angry Birds
    Angry Birds Seasons
    Angry Birds Rio
    Astro
    BBC News
    Beautiful Live Weather
    Beautiful Widgets
    Beautiful Widgets Animation
    Bubble Buster
    Calorie Counter
    CNN News
    Codes (Redbox)
    Compass
    Documents To Go
    Documents To Go Full Version Key
    Droid Dictionary
    Droid Eye (2 of these)
    DroidLight
    DroidRootHelper-v9.0
    Earth
    Facebook
    FiOS Mobile Remote
    FlightStatsLite
    FLV Player
    FREEdi Video Download Helper
    GasBuddy
    Gmail
    Google Sky Map
    Google Voice
    GTunes Music
    Hot Reboot
    Huffington Post
    Jewels
    LauncherPro
    Maps
    Meebo IM
    Memory Trainer
    Movies
    My Tracks
    My Verizon Mobile
    myBloodPressure Free
    Nav Launcher
    Pandora
    Parcels
    Plume
    Point Inside
    Quadrant Standard
    RealCalc
    SetCPU
    ShopSavvy
    Skype
    Spare Parts
    StopWatch & Timer
    Tank Hero
    TempMonitor Lite
    Terminal Emulator
    Testing Menu
    Titanium Backup
    Titanium Backup PRO
    TouchDown (Android 2.0)
    TouchDown Pro License
    Traffic-Jam
    TripIt
    TuneIn Radio
    Verizon FiOS DVR Manager
    VEVO
    Video Player
    Voice Search
    Wired Tether
    Wireless Tether
    X Construct
    Yelp
    YouTube
  12. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have probably 3/4 of those apps.
  13. joe1980
    Offline

    joe1980 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was afraid of that.

    What about people who are NOT having these issues? Would you mind sharing which of these apps you do/don't have? It would be nice to narrow down the list before I start deleting apps and trying to figure out which one is causing the problem.
  14. joe1980
    Offline

    joe1980 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. Felix 222
    Offline

    Felix 222 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    i share the same problem
Search tags for this page

droid x freezes on dialer won't open

,
galaxy nexus dialer problems
,
s3 issue force close when i open dialer