any way to undo update.zip?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by aldaudio, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    tried doing this update.zip to get me this live wallpaper, but now ive lost my 3G.

    what can i do?
     
  2. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,713
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +168
    Reflash your backup that you did before you did this.
     
  3. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    There are many many update.zip's out there. No clue what this one was.


    1) restore from your backup
    2) if there is no known good backup then you can either fix what is broken or flash back to stock and start over.
     
  4. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    in my nandroid folder i have "backupone" and "stockfullbackup" but when i boot into clockwork recovery it says there isnt anything in that folder.

    i did those backups in SPR.


    can you only do backups with SPR or clockwork?
     
  5. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    spr only does spr backups, clockwork only does those made with clockwork.

    Using rom manager you can flash alternative recovery method, which is SPRecovery and then restore one of those other backups. First...backup what you have in case it is better than what you end up with.

    I always name my advanced nandroids something like ss4.1_6-24-10 or more-froyo_6-23-10 so I know when I made the last one and what is in it.
     
  6. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think i messed up.... i deleted rom manager, before i read your message, in hopes that it would get rid of clockwork and use SPR instead.

    so i read your message and reinstalled RM, but now when i open it all thats lit up is the recovery options (flash or reboot into recovery)
     
  8. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    You can try posting in that thread. The person who made the file you used should know what it does. He might be able to walk you through undoing it. Good luck, worst case you just roll back, then work your way back to where you were.

    Sprecovery installation is in the 3rd link of my signature. Rom manager should let you install it too. Flash first, then flash alternative recovery method to get SPR up and running.
     
  9. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you see my last post?
     
  10. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm assuming "flash" means to install clockwork. My last post suggests doing that and then going back into RM and flashing alternative recovery method to give you back sprecovery. If that won't work then use RSD Lite to flash SPRecovery on your phone to then use SPRecovery to recover one of your backups. Post back, let us know how you make out.
     
  11. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    after reinstalling rm i hit flash and it gives me an error saying it was unable to connect to server. i am running on wifi since i cant get 3G now. i saw another thread in the rescue squad section that said to download the spr .img file and do the following:

    19. Open Terminal Emulator and type DO NOT TYPE THE QUOTATION MARKS!
    "su" press enter and allow
    "flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-0.99.3b.img"
    "reboot recovery"

    so im gonna try that and see if it works...
     
  12. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well, the above didnt work. terminal responded with "flash_image: not found"
     
  13. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    /system/bin/flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-0.99.3b.img


    Try that instead, its the full path to flash_image

    When you typed su you should have gotten a pound symbol too, indicating you have root access.

    And you should have downloaded the img file and placed it on your sdcard (just checking)

    If this doesn't work then try installing rsd lite and get sprecovery back that way.
     
  14. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got SPR back, but unfortunately the last backup i made was the one before i rooted?

    tho i coulda swore i made a backup before i updated from SS 4.0 to 4.1.... hmmm
     
  15. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I guess you just update.zip ss4.1 and rebuild from there?
    You can use one of the backup apps to grab your apps first, and your data. Actually, if you are on ss4.1 you probably don't have to wipe cache and data and might be good to go....if you are just putting the same rom back on.
     
Search tags for this page
how revert update.zip in android
,
how to revert android update
,
how to undo the zip
,
how to undo update.zip on android
,
my phone is flashed undo update?
,
undo last zip update
,
undo update on android
,

undo update.zip

,
update.zip versus undo.zip