Any way to tether using Bluetooth?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by truckbutt, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using an unrooted Droid, OS 2.2, and EasyTether to connect my netbook to the Internet via a USB cable. Is there anyway to do this via Bluetooth instead of the USB cable?
     
  2. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    PDANet has bluetooth tethering, they have a free and paid version. I believe the free version will visit any site except Secure sites i.e. HTTPS sites. Although some free users have reported being able to visit those sites as well.
     
  3. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I have that but haven't tried it yet. Will the drivers from EasyTether interfere?
     
  4. naknak95

    naknak95 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0

    They shouldn't. I had both installed and PdaNet worked fine. Try this.

    1.) Download PDANet to your phone. After that make sure your bluetooth is turned on.

    2.) Pair your phone with your laptop.

    3.) Start PDAnet on your phone, if it says it wants to make it discoverable, click "No". (Clicking yes doesn't work for me for some reason.)

    4. You don't need to install PDANet to your laptop for BT. Just go to dial-up settings in Internet Explorer and set up a new broadband connection. Do "Standand Modem over Bluetooth Link # ". then for the number it wants to dial out, put #333.

    5.) Leave Username and Password blank, then it should work.

    Any problems, message me back.
     
  5. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have PDAnet installed on my phone and my netbook with Win 7. When using Bluetooth, I find that if I start PDAnet before I open IE, I get an error message. If I start IE first, wait for it to load and say that it has no connection and then start PDAnet, it runs perfectly. This doesn't happen with PDAnet in tether mode. Will what you have suggested above take care of that?
     
  6. naknak95

    naknak95 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes it shouldn't have any connection errors as long as you folllow the directions.
     
  7. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will try it and let you know what happens.
    Thanks,
    Scott
     
  8. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The choices you suggest are not available. There is no place to enter a number to dial out. Where do you put "Standard Modem over Bluetooth Link#".
     
  9. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried whjat you suggested. There is no place to put a #333 for Broadband connection. I keep getting error 651 when I try to connect.
     
  10. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    After searching the internet I found out that alot of people have had great difficulty getting PDAnet to work in Bluetooh Mode with Windows 7. I pieced together some posts on how to set this up.
    1. Go into Internet Options
    2. Click on the Connections Tab.
    3. Select Add to the right of Dial Up and Virtual Private Network settings.
    4. In Windows 7 select Dial Up Connection
    5. Ignore User Name and Password.
    6. Use 123 as the phone number.
    7. Click on the Options Tab.
    8. Uncheck all boxes except Display Progress While Connecting.
    9. Click on the Conections Tab and select Dial whenever a Network Connection isn't present.
    10. Make sure your phone is paired with your computer.
    The final step in getting this to work in Windows 7, is that you have to start IE before you connect to PDAnet. If you don't you will get an error message and it won't connect.
    Thanks to all the people whose post helped me to figure this out. I hope it's useful here.
     
    #10 truckbutt, Nov 25, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2010
  11. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had no idea that PDA Net could be utilized through Bluetooth. Hopefully it will be an option on Easy Tether in the future.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. truckbutt

    truckbutt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once you get it working, it works very well. I am no longer looking to get a cellular modem for my netbook.
     
Search tags for this page
can i connect easytether via bluetooth
,
can i use easy tether with my laptop with bluetooth
,
easy tether pro using bluetooth
,

easytether bluetooth

,
easytether bluetooth android
,
easytether bluetooth to laptop
,
easytether bluetouch
,
easytether pro bluetooth
,
how to connect easytether with bluetooth.
,
how to connect easytheter via bluetooth