Any way to have the comma button and voice to text enabled?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by rlb, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. rlb

    rlb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't found the answer anywhere. Does anyone know if this is possible?
     
  2. rlb

    rlb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Searched again this morning with no luck. This is pretty annoying...I use the comma often and I also like the speech to text. I can access that quickly by swiping across the keyboard so I would love to get the comma button back without disabling STT
     
  3. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    It would help a little if we knew why you didn't have these options.

    Some more info please.
     
  4. rlb

    rlb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 2.1 on a non rooted Motorola Droid and speech to text is enabled, therefore the comma button on the virtual keyboard has been replaced with a microphone button.

    To get the comma button back you have to disable speech to text which I do not want to do.

    I would like to know if there is a way to get the comma button back while keeping speech to text enabled, since a horizontal swipe across the keyboard does the same thing as pressing the microphone button.
     
  5. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's no good... I don't know how I could do it with the stock keyboard, but are you up for trying a different keyboard?

    The htc_ime has both buttons and the keyboard works much better than stock.

    You also don't need root.
     
  6. rlb

    rlb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tip on the HTC keyboard. I'm going to try to make my own custom skin tonight.
     
  7. B1-66er

    B1-66er New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you could just hit the "123" button, which turns the speech to text button back into the comma
     
  8. rlb

    rlb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    That works, but its an extra key press for something that never should have been moved...Long pressing the period key works too
     
  9. Sweettooth

    Sweettooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Ratings:
    +11
    I agree that it's kind of annoying having the button there, especially when I don't use it that much, but I've gotten fast enough with the virtual keyboard and the physical one that any extra key presses are unnoticeable.
     
  10. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it would be awesome if all keyboards supported all letters, numbers, etc AND they all have swiping capabilities AND speech to text.

    I guess we want to much fellas.
     
  11. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think a comma key is too much to ask for. I may be one of the few people that try to text with correct grammar, and having to switch to the numbers screen for each comma annoys me, too, especially since the comma USED to be there.

    I like speech to text, but I like my comma more. Both would be ideal! I'll try the HTC keyboard out and see how I like it.
     
  12. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    I don't think so. No comma bugs me too. There is enough real estate in the space bar to shrink and have a mic AND a comma
     
Search tags for this page

comma

,

get rid of text to speech button on android

,

how to put commas in with google voice typing

,

missing comma on iphone text

,

rlb button in keyboard

,

voice to text comma

,

when i say comma samsung voice says karma