Any way to format /system w/out ADB?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cwininger, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. cwininger

    cwininger Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The D
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did a search and couldn't find a simple answer. Asking with the idea of flashing blackdroid's new rom ,coming from droidmod 1.0. Some are suggesting a wipe of. /system since I'm going from a 2.0.1 rom to a 2.1 rom. I'm mobile right now with no access to my laptop/adb.
     
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    I knew this question would surface once I saw blackdroid's instructions in his thread....

    And the answer is no...unless there is some way I've never heard of. But I'm 99.999999% sure that ADB is the only way...

    *unless* your phone didn't screw up enough to do this in a terminal emulator? I actually *just* thought of doing this as I was typing lol

    Try typing

    format SYSTEM:

    And see what happens lol
     
  3. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Do you have SPRecovery installed? All that's needed when going to 2.1 is to do a clean/complete wipe from SPRecovery. The ROM chef should have that on his first page... If they don't I would personally question using their ROM. But here's the instructions (courtesy of Pete)

    Nandroid Backup Installation Instructions:
    -Update & backup any files you wish to restore, this will wipe /data
    -Extract the files from the archive using WinRAR or a similar program
    -Place the extracted folder (the ROM) into the "nandroid" folder on your sdcard
    -Reboot into recovery mode (hold the power and "x" button at the same time)
    -Wipe data/factory reset (do this twice!)
    -Wipe cache partition (do this twice!)
    -Backup/Restore
    -Advanced Nandroid Restore
    -Choose backup (select the ROM)
    -Perform Restore
    -Enjoy!

    Edit: If you're flashing ROMs w/o SPRecovery you are asking for trouble...
     
  4. cwininger

    cwininger Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The D
    Ratings:
    +0
    format /system


    Haha, not sure I like the idea of using the terms "format" and "see what happens" in the same sentence...
     
  5. jbernard703

    jbernard703 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah but he is asking about a SYSTEM wipe which sprecovery does not do. with that said i don't know if it really makes a difference or maybe sprecovery actually does it and doesn't list it. i cannot say.
     
  6. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    No sprecovery doesn't wipe system.
    There is no software that does.
     
  7. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes SPRecovery DOES wipe /system, I promise

    It does for a fact while its installing rom.tgz ROMs
     
  8. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's not sprecovery doing it, that's the script inside the .tgz.
     
  9. cwininger

    cwininger Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The D
    Ratings:
    +0
    try it anyway?

    I know all about nandroid/sprecovery. Just wondering if I should go ahead with the flash and forgo the /system wipe. Anyone know why this is being suggested? Any dangers in trying it without the wipe?
     
  10. Topsy

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    No danger it doing it without the system wipe.
    Only reason to do a system wipe before a push is so that files that aren't a part of the new rom get cleared out.
    My guess is he's thinking there's some libraries or something not being replaced so this will clear them.
    I personally don't see much of an effect other than freeing up a small amount of system memory.
     
  11. cwininger

    cwininger Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The D
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good stuff. Thanks. I'm going to flash it as-is. I'll post if I find any notable issues with this method. Thanks everyone.
     
  12. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I thought I saw a thread with an sbf file for 2.1 and if so you could do that and be all set, no?

    I still don't have adb and haven't needed it yet. If I had to type out a huge page of stuff I'd consider it so I could use my PC keyboard. I also wonder why if people think typing terminal mode commands on the droid is so cumbersome that somebody hasn't created some scripts for the times we do have to do a series of commands. Then the user could just run a short command script instead of 6-10 lines of commands.
     
  13. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    He was asking about a system wipe because (from what I gathered) he didn't have a clear understanding of what's needed to go to 2.1 (i.e. what needs cleaned/wiped). Which is why I posted the excerpt from Pete (which covers wiping the data).

    Aside from bricking a device there is NO reason to wipe the System. But if he wants to for fun than he can use the RSDLite.
     
Search tags for this page
adb format
,

adb format system

,
adb wipe
,
android format system
,

android format system partition

,
format /system android
,
format android system partition
,

format system partition android

,
how to format android system partition
,
how to format system partition android