Any way to fix this issue...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by SSHGuru, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,822
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    Over half my battery is being used trying to get a 3G signal in my house which blocks them.

    I want to get phone calls and be able to use my phone when I leave the house, is there a way to rectify this?
     
  2. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    use a widget like switchpro to turn off 3g when you are home, or use something like tasker to have it set up location GPS based.
     
  3. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,822
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    If I turn off 3G at home how do I get phone calls?
     
  4. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    First thing to try is update PRLs via *228.

    Other than that, you could get a "repeater" or whatever they're called from Verizon to strengthen the signal in your house. I've heard good things about this, but I don't think it's free.

    The only other thing I can think of is to buy Locale or something to turn off your phone data when you're home. If you have wifi, you can rely on that for your data needs, and you could still make calls.

    By the way, and I don't mean to be a jerk, I clicked on your post on a whim. I usually don't check out threads that have an ambiguous title. You might have better results with a more specific title next time.
     
    #4 aminaked, Aug 11, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have a solution but you may not like it. Verizon sells signal boosters that you can plug in the wall. They are around 150.00 I believe.
     
  6. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,822
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thanks for the advice. I already tried the Verizon signal booster solution and it didn't work. Repeaters as they are called. I have no window that faces the direction it requires.

    I've updated the phone - it's the house. It's old and made of plaster which seems to block everything.

    When I leave the house I get excellent battery life but I don't leave that often.

    I do use wi-fi at home all the time.

    If there is a widget that lets me turn off 3g and still get phone calls please link me.
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Not possible.....
     
  8. gujupmp88

    gujupmp88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    if your wi-fi is on, then you 3g should be turned off automatically. 3g has nothing to do with phone calls. 3g is only for data, once you get a call, 3g turns off anyways. On verizon and sprint, data and voice can not be used at the same time, unless you are using wifi.
     
  9. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,822
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I have Wi-Fi on,

    Cell Standby today has taken up 37% of my battery. 11h 2m, time without signal is 52%.

    Phone Idle is 25%, 5 hours 30M (which is how long it's been off the charger).

    I am down to 60%.
     
  10. gujupmp88

    gujupmp88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    that just looks like you have crappy signal in your house/area. doesn't mean 3g is the culprit.
     
  11. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's a solution: since you're at home, just plug the phone in.

    So, *228 didn't work, huh? And the phone works fine outside your house so it's not a bad unit.
     
    #11 aminaked, Aug 11, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  12. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,822
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I've been using the charging solution for a long time, was hoping for another solution.