Any updates as far as Honeycomb or Ice Cream

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X2' started by rcjosie, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    With 512mb of ram, it unlikely that the x2 will get ics. From what I have heard, 512mb is not enough for both ics and motoblur, and Motorola will opt to keep blur.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
     
  2. motcher41

    motcher41 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brainerd, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. rcjosie

    rcjosie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info robert that would be nice but again I have also heard about the X2 not having enough memory to run IC but any info would be very much appreciated dancedroid
     
  4. robert70

    robert70 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    NP, IM me Josie and I can give you a few more details.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  5. droidhater1

    droidhater1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody know why the x 2 is so slow with down loading ? I thought it would be alot faster than the Droid x, but it's slower.
     
  6. Trip3601211

    Trip3601211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's odd you say that. My X2 is Gold compared to the OG DX I had. Finally have a phone that doesn't restart itself and randomly turn back on when turned off. Do you have alot of apps installed? That may be your issue and might want to sort through some to pick out the bad egg. I have about 20-22 apps and mine runs great still. If you put your phone on safe-mode and play with all your apps, it'll let you know which one is messing with your phone.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  7. juhde

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    Download speeds really depends on your connection not so much your phone.

    Sent from my Android device.
     
  8. Trip3601211

    Trip3601211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    Agreed. Forgot to mention that. I have a solid 3 bars almost all day...sometimes 4. Good thing you mentioned that. Also, whatever build your on may be holding back a better connection. Are you on 2.3.3 or 2.3.4? If your on 2.3.3 you may want to go in settings>about phone>and system update to make sure your device is up to date, software wise.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  9. motcher41

    motcher41 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brainerd, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is the scoop.....we will probably never see any update again for this phone let alone ICS. Just not gonna happen. Moto isn't even thinking about our phone anymore. Sorry but thats the deal. There hasn't been a new build for us on their servers in a month or two
     
  10. Trip3601211

    Trip3601211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well thats what was thought about the OG Droid but they had an update a month after our latest 2.3.4 OTA. So never give up hope man.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  11. Gonzo79

    Gonzo79 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    mi
    Ratings:
    +0
    I acualey just talked to a verizon tech guy an hour a go and asked about a update forx2 and he looked it up and said yes any day no latter than mid feb so keep ur ears and eyes open. He couldnt tell me what its for but its comeing.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using roidForums
     
  12. Trip3601211

    Trip3601211 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    Nice to hear. Let us know if you hear/see anything else. Thanks.

    Sent from my DROID X2
     
Search tags for this page
bionic honeycomb
,
droid 3 honeycomb
,

droid bionic honeycomb

,

droid x2 honeycomb

,
droid x2 honeycomb update
,
honeycomb droid x2
,
honeycomb on droid x2
,
motorola droid 3 honeycomb
,
update droid x2 to honeycomb
,
upgrade droid x2 to honeycomb