Any untethered root for GB?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by SquireSCA, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +182
    I see the one from TBH where you install Froyo and root it and then install a pre-rooted ROM. And I see a 1 click root out for .602 but that appears to require a PC and you have to re-root it every time you reboot the phone?

    Is there a true 1 click root out yet, maybe something that I missed, something more like the old Z4Root from Froyo?
     
  2. leftspin

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    use the one click D3 root, works fine and you can reboot the phone to your heart's content
     
  3. Snow02

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    You don't have to re-root when you reboot. But no, there's no app-based root for gingerbread on moto phones.
     
  4. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's super easy. Yeah, you need a pc, but you literally open the program, plug the phone in and it roots it for you automatically. It's permanent too, not temporary.

    D2-CM7GB(9/19)
     
  5. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +182
    Anyone got a link to the right one? The ones I found require a PC, but then they say that every time you reboot the phone you need to reroot it. I didn't see the one that is permanent, but maybe I am just being a goober...
     
  6. Snow02

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    Goober. There's only one method.
     
  7. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
  8. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +182
    Well spank my a$$ and call me Sally.... LOL

    I don't know what the heck I was reading, perhaps it was the DroidX root and not the D3 root. haha.

    Thanks! Worked like a champ, I think. I mean it says it rooted, but I need to actually go install something that requires root to test it.

    Is there an updated list of all the bloatware that it is safe to get rid of? I typically just rename the file extension to xxx.old so that I can rename it back if I need to.
     
  9. leftspin

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    If it says it worked it probably did, open SuperUser and see
     
  10. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you see superuser in your app drawer, it's a done deal. It won't even be on your phone unless it worked.

    D2-CM7GB(9/21)
     
Search tags for this page
android untethered root
,
how to root and android untethered
,
root android untethered
,
root untethered
,
untethered android
,
untethered android root
,
untethered root
,

untethered root android

,
untethered root for android
,
untethered root galaxy s3