Any problems with playing games?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by akhi216, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. akhi216
    Offline

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Does the Razr have any problems playing games? I was wondering because I'm considering getting a Razr and I'm worried about the aging GPU.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wouldn't worry. The SGX 540 GPU is plenty powerful, and it should have excellent ICS support, as the GNex also uses the OMAP4 chipset and had the same SGX 540 GPU.

    I wouldn't call it an aging GPU considering Google's flagship device uses it.

    EDIT: Actually, it should perform pretty much on par with your Droid 3 as far as gaming goes. So you should already have a pretty good idea. A Razr and a Droid 3 run on the same platform, the Razr just adds 200MHz CPU speed and a LTE radio while omitting the keyboard and GSM capabilities.
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011
  3. akhi216
    Offline

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    On the aging GPU, Google's formula for Nexus phones isn't cutting edge technology.

    I was actually wondering does the 200 MHz increase in CPU speed or the extra 512 MB of RAM (or both) make a difference when playing intense games. Everytime I play those games on my Droid 3 they render the phone unusable requiring a battery pull after playing for more than twenty minutes.


    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  4. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your gonna play a game like "OverKill", you should be fine. My D1 bricked during the load screen. lmao!

    Sent from my ProjElite Droid¹
  5. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, the 200MHz CPU speed won't make a whole lot of difference. But depending on the game, and the RAM useage, the additional 512MB could make a big difference; and sometimes even mean the difference between a game working and not working. I apologize, as I had forgotten that the D3 has 1/2 the RAM of the Razr/Bionic.
Search tags for this page

why wont my droid 3 play any games?