Any planned fix for lack of charge light on Apex 1.4?

Discussion in 'Apex' started by bobstro, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. bobstro
    Offline

    bobstro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm very pleased with Apex 1.4 on my Motorola Droid 2. The only thing lacking is the little white LED charge indicator when connected to a charger. I do miss it when plugged in at night since I've had the occasional loose plug and resulting missed alarms. I believe this is a known issue, and I'm wondering if a fix is in the works.

    Thanks,

    - Bob
  2. jkcm725
    Offline

    jkcm725 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    would also love to see a fix for this also

  3. jdog94
    Offline

    jdog94 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think anyone's to worried about it to be honest
  4. bobstro
    Offline

    bobstro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh? Two of us here are.

    - Bob
  5. jdog94
    Offline

    jdog94 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was meaning I don't think it is to urgent of a matter for the dev

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. bobstro
    Offline

    bobstro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That would be the point of my question. :)
  7. jdog94
    Offline

    jdog94 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i guess you dont care for my opinion so ill leave good luck getting an answer
  8. bobstro
    Offline

    bobstro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm only asking what the official answer is. If it's no, that's cool, and I understand why, and I'll look for my own solution.

    Not meant personally!

    - Bob
  9. jdog94
    Offline

    jdog94 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I have seen this asked several times over the last few months and that seems to be the answer

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    Seconded.

    The dev did say that it is a known issue, bug it isn't on the top of his list to fix it.

    That is the offical response from the dev

    From my Liberated Droid 2 (Liberty v 1.5)
  11. bobstro
    Offline

    bobstro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, a hard(er) answer! Thanks, dankarlinski. Is there an issues page so I don't ask questions that have been answered? I've read through this thread and the FabDroid wiki pages and didn't see a mention of this.
  12. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    This is an issue with almost every ROM on the D2. (It may acutally be EVERY ROM)

    It is not on the top of any dev's list of things to fix. (I think some have tried with no luck as well.)
  13. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    If I'm not mistaken, I believe it actually still worked for me on fission, but don't quote me on it. However, since its not a functionality thing, itl likely be awhile before its fixed, if ever


    As for the list of known problems, there are threads for each rom with known issues and such

    From my Liberated Droid 2 (Liberty v 1.5)
  14. Zetsumei
    Offline

    Zetsumei New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cross Fiyahhhhhhh!
    Cross Fiyahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh :icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana:dancedroiddancedroiddancedroid:icon_eek::icon_eek::icon_eek::icon_eek::icon_eek::icon_eek:
  15. CxUNG
    Offline

    CxUNG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Recommend downloading BattmonX from the market if you want led for charging. Works great.

    Sent from DROiDx using DROiDforumsAPP
  16. trook
    Offline

    trook New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    The charge light works on fission

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  17. miketoasty
    Offline

    miketoasty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    The charge light works on any ROM that is built off of the Droid 2. Most of the ROMs out there right now (Rubix, GummyJar, Liberty, Apex, DarkSlide) are all built off of the Droid X. Squidlymandingo and Fission are the only 2 that I know of that are built off of the Droid 2.
  18. bobstro
    Offline

    bobstro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been looking for a good reason to try Fission/Fusion, and this may be it. I was about to do an SBF to try to look for any traces of the LED and related permissions, but if I can try a new ROM in the process, that'll be a bonus.

    Thanks for the useful feedback! This is becoming a bit more pressing for me after waking up yesterday to a dead battery when the charger didn't seat correctly. Fortunately, I didn't have to be anywhere!

    - Bob
  19. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fission lacks any blur, one assumes you were on Apex for blur options, so you might miss that.

    Last I looked, Fusion (the Fission "sister" ROM that has some Blur) was kind of dead in the water w/no updates/activity since an RC1 initial release...
  20. bobstro
    Offline

    bobstro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm futzing with Squidlymandingo now. I don't need blur so much as the Corporate email option for synchronizing with MS Exchange for work. Fusion broke on that count.

    The charge light is the only thing keeping Apex from being ideal for my needs, but it is a real problem not to have it when I'm on the road. The travel chargers tend to bump loose easily, so just checking the screen before snoozing isn't enough.

    I realize Fab doesn't have a D2, so I'm hoping to find the trigger and contribute back.

    Thanks for the pointers.

    EDIT: The BattMonX (free) app allows setting the front colored LED to various shades based on charging and battery status. I still want to use my notification LEDs, but I've been able to set this app to use the LED when charging and when at 100% capacity, which seems to meet my immediate needs. With this, Apex seems to have met my every need.

    - Bob