Another Sholes Update 2/6/10

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hookbill, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    It's available in the market place. This is different from 2.0.2. I didn't see any other threads on this, sorry if this is a duplicate.
     
  2. hughesjr

    hughesjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to be clear ... what is updated is the SholesMod updater app in the Market. There is no new ROM to install after the new updater is installed (2.0.2 is still the latest ROM released).
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    At the developers site it says it fixes the force closed window people are seeing. Should make it idiot proof. Their words, not mine.
     
  4. Yodes

    Yodes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to hear as this was starting to become quite a frequent issue for me. If this works out I'll stick with sholes. Was considering jumping to BB just because of the FC issues I was having.
     
  5. Wags

    Wags Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the Sholes' team's website they've given a DL link to the latest apk updater but I don't see one for the ROM itself. The only ROM link they have is for 2.0.1 (Sholes edition 1.1) and it's a broken URL anyway.

    If what you said is the case, where do I find a DL link or the name of the marketplace app that actually roots and installs Sholes? If the updater app does this then nevermind, I must have misread you.
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    The app in the Marketplace should do everything for you. That's why you pay your 5.00, not just to get the update.:)
     
  7. hughesjr

    hughesjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It will download the latest version of the ROM ... which is now 2.0.2

    My only purpose for my post was to tell people who already have installed 2.0.2 yesterday that they should not expect to get a ROM to install after they install the new Updater App.

    If you want to download the ROM directly ... you can get it here:

    http://downloads.sholes.info/finalreleases/sholesmod-2.0.2.rom.tgz

    Also, you can download the Updater for free here if you don't want to by it from the market for $5:

    http://downloads.sholes.info/smupdater-4.apk

    I would personally recommend buying the updater from the market as the guy should make some cash as an incentive to keep working on it, but they have also made it available for free.
     
  8. Wags

    Wags Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gotcha, thanks for clarifying.
    Should I say "yes" to wiping /data during the sholes ROM install? Sorry for the noob overflow. It says to say "yes" if using 2.1
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    If you say yes it's going to wipe your data, so unless you are planning on installing 2.1 you want to say no.
     
  10. Wags

    Wags Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks hookbill, I finally tip-toed my way through the ROM install and it's running smoothly now!
    Is there a separate apk for live wallpapers on the Sholes rom?
    Sorry I kind of hijacked your thread into a "help me I'm a noob" support topic.
     
  11. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    ha ha, that's ok man. I think the live wallpaper only runs on 2.1 so it won't run with rooted 2.0.2.

    Did you overclock yet?
     
  12. Wags

    Wags Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I told SetCPU to autodetect but it just FC'ed on me. =/