Android Updates WOOT!!!

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by smithkjnc, Mar 1, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. smithkjnc
    Offline

    smithkjnc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
  3. c3p1
    Offline

    c3p1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only bummer was seeing it moved to 2nd quarter, which for me that was the first time I saw that. Oh well, still enjoying what I have.
  4. Mr. Premium
    Offline

    Mr. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all, this is awesome news. Now android can't get as much crap for being fragmented. However, the guy only has "inside sources" and most of us know how reliable they are </sarcasm>.

    I'll believe it when I see it.
  5. hlaalu
    Offline

    hlaalu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so which ones require the wipe?
  6. Kack
    Offline

    Kack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like what i have now. so how do i block it?
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6

    This thread is for the HTC Eris. You say you have a Droid.

    You can't do anything to block an update when they go OTA. It's mandatory.
  8. Kack
    Offline

    Kack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh oops my bad need to finish reading! well the wife has an eris she will be happy i suppose!
  9. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    Most roms block the OTA updates. It can be blocked by renaming a file. You also can turn it down when prompted, but it auto installs upon reboot.
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    True, thank you. I was assuming that his Droid is stock.
  11. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good news but Ill believe it when I see it.
  12. Kack
    Offline

    Kack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted last week finally got it to where i like it. 2.1 is no biggie anymore.
  13. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    I read the article and really there is nothing in there that we haven't heard already. Further the writer names "inside sources." Maybe he talked to the janitor for all we know.:)

    These articles are all over the internet now.
  14. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    Good point by Hook. If you are not rooted, the update you shall have.

    visit /system/etc/security and look in that folder using Astro or some other file exploring tool. If otacerta.zip has been renamed to otacerts.zip.bak or something else then updates are blocked.
  15. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    If nothing else this news should put to rest the various threads where people feel multiple OS versions alienate developers.

    At some point though, there is bound to be a device old enough that can't run Android 3.5 or 4.7, etc. Maybe they all will have 2.1 but some features, like Live Wallpapers or certain games will be too cpu intensive to run.