Android TV Player won't connect to WiFi.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Plazm, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. Plazm

    Plazm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S5
    So I just got back from Dubai with a Tarsam v4.2 Android TV box for my dad as a replacement for his old v2.3 one. Everything works fine except for the WiFi (which essentially renders it useless).

    The router name comes up and asks for a password, I enter it and it says "Connecting" and then "Saved" but it doesn't actually connect.

    I've tried resetting the unit as well as my router and also trying to use my phone as a WiFi hotspot where the same issue occurs. I've also tried switching between WPA and WEP security but no dice.

    The unit looks like this, http://ww.dealwinwin.com/wwwimages/product/I6/23/2013-07-17-2340355815.jpg just with the Tarsam branding.

    Software version: 4.2.2
    Firmware: v1.0
    Build Number: sugar_ref001-eng 4.2.2 JDQ39 20131115 test-keys

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. promo87

    promo87 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm.... that just looks weird ! I think there is some issue at the device end why I am saying this is because you have already used most of the tricks recommended for ! So, here I would say try giving a call to the support about the issue you are facing I would say they are the one who can help you out in a much better way on this !! :(
     
  3. Plazm

    Plazm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S5
    Grrr, thanks anyway! Dunno how much support there is seeing as the brand of the unit is basically the store that I got it from and my e-mails have since gone unanswered. :/
     
  4. promo87

    promo87 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Aww... support people aren't responding to emails :mad: try walking down over their store and give them a surprise :confused: tell them you don't want their product as its not working, I should say ask for refund.
     
  5. Plazm

    Plazm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S5

    The big issue here is that the store is a 9 hour flight away. Do you think this is something that can be rectified with a software up/downgrade?
     
  6. promo87

    promo87 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Aww... my gosh then I would say you are totally in the grace of customer support people ! If they are no going to respond back to your email then you are going to get .... otherwise I have nothing left to say :( I just ran out of suggestions.
     
  7. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Welcome to the Forum.

    It so difficult to troubleshoot off brand devices. I would first go and set the router to WEP and then reboot.
    I would do a factory reset and try connecting to the router. I do realize that you tried it, but I would do it again.
     
  8. Plazm

    Plazm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S5
    Thanks so much for the help thus far, guys. I tried resetting the router and changing the security protocol again with no luck. I also tried connecting to an open, tethered hotspot hosted by my Galaxy S5 with the same "saved, secured" problem.

    I remember reading that some hone users had problems with WiFi when initially upgrading to 4.2 so I'm thinking of installing a different version of Android but I'm really not sure where to begin and I don't want to brick the unit even though it's pretty much a write-off.

    I've also tried factory resetting the unit with no luck.
     
  9. promo87

    promo87 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, in this case I am not going to recommend you moving forward with it because, for installing the new ROM over your .. you need to root it down and rooting your device means the warranty of your device will get void ! Rest I'll leave this to you as I am not having exact idea about the ... :(
     
Search tags for this page

android box not connecting to wifi

,

android box wont connect to wifi

,
android tv box cannot connect to wifi
,

android tv box not connecting to wifi

,
android tv box wifi wont turn on
,
android tv box wont connect to wifi
,
android tv wont connect to wifi
,
my android box wont connect to wifi
,

why wont my android box connect to wifi

,
wifi wont turn on android tv box