Android Security

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by FernBch, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    How secure is an android device? I am finding out that many companies are not allowing Android powered devices to be connected or even synced to their corporate networks. My employer has said that they will not allow it because of them not being secure enough. I was also told that they are especially prone to malware. Is there any truth to this, is the Android community aware of this, and is there anything in the works to improve this? I do not care for the Blackberry devices and had a Windows phone and didn't really like it either. It would be real nice to see this anti-android thinking at the corporate level change.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Malware is available across all platforms so its not a viable argument. The market is constantly under review for such issues. Any phone is only as secure as the user. With the open nature of programming for android forward thinking companies can create apps or have them done for them that could very easily streamline operations. Such as a salesman placing orders via an app. No computer needed in the field. My two cents worth.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of companies with Exchange and ActiveSync aren't allowing devices because some don't support the ActiveSync security policies that they enforce. The specific device in question can matter. Your question is extremely broad. Are you asking about actually connecting an Android device via WiFi or just syncing with an Exchange server? The relevant discussion around security depends on the focus of your discussion topic.
     
  4. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess it would be to sync to an exhange server for email and such. For me there would be no other reason to connect to their network.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's not the malware employers are concerned about; they stop that at the firewall.
    What they fear is you losing your phone and all the corporate data with it.
     
  6. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    As mentioned they can't push policies, and there's no built in remote wipe, all things a corporate phone would require...i doubt a major corporation wants to use a third party remote wipe app
     
  7. vatothe0

    vatothe0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    You can push policies and remote wipe. You just need a device that supports it.

    Look at the DROID Pro.

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  8. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Completely forgot about the PRO, you're right.
     
  9. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    That may be the case, but I do know the ability to remote wipe exists. Our work network uses Norton products and their android app has remote wipe ability.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  10. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    As mentioned, they would probably want a built in protocol for remote wiping and not want to have to depend on a third party app.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    That I could understand, it would be nice if they would have just said that.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  12. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sounds like your company is uneducated....
     
  13. FernBch

    FernBch Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fernandina Beach, Fl
    Ratings:
    +0
    Either that or they just really like Bill Gates.....Lol

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums