Android.process.media problem? please help

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by bnichs5, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. bnichs5

    bnichs5 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im using bugless 0.6.2 and i need help whenever i try to load stuff from my sdcard, such as music pictures and videos, the screen says android.process.media had stopped unexpectedly please try again.and i do force close. i need help wit my problem. thanks.
     
  2. bnichs5

    bnichs5 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    found the answer

    Go to settings, then application, manage applications, running applications, click media storage, and clear data this shuld fix it.
     
  3. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    bad news, i had this on a m1ui rom and never went back. :( i tried wiping and reflashing many times but couldnt get it to work.
     
  4. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    What were your troubleshooting steps? Maybe something was missed, first off did you try the above suggestion?
     
  5. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    actually im pretty sure i didnt get this error. sorry i was up late last night and didnt read carefully. instead of media, it said acore.
     
  6. dalegg

    dalegg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Process Android.process.media has stopped.

    I had thbis problem on my Droid. checked around and someone said it was caused by a file on the SD card. I took it out and rebooted and had no problem. I put it back in and rebooted and have not had the problem since. Go figure.
     
  7. dalegg

    dalegg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update: Still have the problem but if you remove the SD card it goes away. Still trying to figure out what is on the card that is causing it. I restored all the apps and data and it seemed to be fixed until I started moving the apps to the SD card, then it came back again.
     
  8. armopride07

    armopride07 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What worked for me was deleteing stuff on the SD that I don't need. Also not moving heavy apps to SD helps. Put only what has to be on there.

    If worst comes to worst try adding an app, going to gallery, and if it force closes then you know that's your culprite.

    Just my $.02

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. dalegg

    dalegg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I reloaded the mod, started installing the apps a few at a time. It started again about half way through and removing the apps did not fix it. I came to the conclusion the SD card somehow had a corrupt file on it or maybe a bad directory. I copied everything to my Windows computer, formatted the SD card and loaded everything back from the computer. That did it, it has been running since yesterday with no problems. There is something that is corrupted in the SD card that is causing this to occur.
     
  10. duffman14

    duffman14 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a "Droid" but I was having this problem with some ROMs on my Inspire.

    I just registered to say thank you for this fix. It worked for me. The only difference is that I had to go to "All" instead of "Running" to find the Media Storage app
     
  11. northover

    northover New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI just fixed this proble on mine. Backed up all data on sd card. Then erased all data on sd card from within android. Restored data onto card. FIXED!
     
  12. gsDroid

    gsDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +3
    My wife had a similar problem after I copied her music onto her sdcard. I deleted the music and the problem went away. Then I started copying the music back a hundred files or so at a time until the problem started again. I found a corrupted music file in the last set and deleted it, copied all files, formatted the sdcard, copied files back w/o the bad one and all was better. I was surprised one bad file could mess up the droid so badly.
     
Search tags for this page
android media problem
,
android media process
,
android process media
,
android process media has stopped unexpectedly
,
android process media has stopped working
,
android.media has stopped working
,
android.process.media fix
,

android.process.media has stopped working

,
android.process.media stopped
,
how to fix android.process.media