android.process.media issue

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by DracoZaroff, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. DracoZaroff

    DracoZaroff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The battery on my D3 is dying a faster than it should. After a little digging I found that android.process.media is eating up CPU time for some reason. I tried clearing data from the Media Storage program but this only helps until I reboot the phone. Any suggestions on how to fix this?
     
  2. DracoZaroff

    DracoZaroff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem seems to be gone now after I have moved everything from the SD card to internal storage. For a short time after booting the process will consume a lot of cpu time but it falls off after a minute or two.
    I know that there was a problem before but it is possible that I simply had too much media (pictures, videos, and music) on the SD card and it was taking the process more time than normal to index it all.
     
  3. wkearney99

    wkearney99 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Why not just let it run the index and then see if it settles down?
     
  4. DracoZaroff

    DracoZaroff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So there was a problem but after clearing the data for android.process.media the problem is gone. Battery life is much improved and most things are working great now.
     
  5. mattv111

    mattv111 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was running stock 4.0.4 and recently switched to Gummy, and on both android.process.media has been force closing a lot. It force closes every time I turn my phone on, and sometimes when I'm not doing anything on my phone. Does anyone know why this is happening? I'm not running any special kernels or anything it's the kernels that came with the roms.
     
  6. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Try formatting cache and dalvik in CWMR. If that doesn't work then format cache, clear davlik, format system and try reloading your ROM. Still no joy erase everything and reload your ROM.
     
  7. mattv111

    mattv111 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't tried completely reloading the from yet but I was on 4.0.4 and wiped data cache and davlik when flashing gummy

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  8. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    You should also format / wipe system when flashing to completely different ROM

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  9. Boris_yo

    Boris_yo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you clear data or cache of this process?
     
  10. mattv111

    mattv111 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently switched to another rom and wiped data cache dalvik and formatted system, and I'm still having this issue.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  11. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've seen this on a couple other roms... Try going into applications... "all" and clearing data for media... You won't lose anything...

    "I'll get you my little pretty... And your little dog todo too"
    "I don't even have a little dog todo"
     
  12. mattv111

    mattv111 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see media. I see media storage

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  13. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ya... That's the one

    "I'll get you my little pretty... And your little dog todo too"
    "I don't even have a little dog todo"
     
  14. mattv111

    mattv111 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  15. mattv111

    mattv111 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem seems to be fixed after clearing data in media storage

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
android media process
,

android media process high cpu

,
android media storage process
,
android process media battery
,
android process media high cpu usage
,
android.process.media cpu
,
android.process.media has stopped working
,
android.process.media high cpu
,
android.process.media uses too much cpu time
,
how to stop media storage from consuming my data