Android needs to get a clue...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by slinky, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got a new incredible as a replacement for my Droid 1. Darn speedy that thing is and the unlock (why is this required???) is much better than the Droid 1's side swipe.

    The one that always kills me is the inability to have a hardware button to pick up and hang up a call. It's a phone, right? Blackberry has four keys and gets this right. I like the search button but, for heaven's sake, why doesn't the optical button answer the phone and hang up?

    What's the problem? Every time I pull the phone away from my ear the screen shuts off. I try to hit the power key to turn on the display, it's on for a moment and then it shuts off quickly - I don't know why, perhaps from the lighting around me, I don't know. It sometimes takes me 4-8 times to just hang up on a call because I can't turn the screen back on. It happened with my Droid as well, especially when I was in dim lighting. Could drive you batty. I really hope they finally make a phone with a hardware answer key. It won't be copying the iPHone... not having one isn't innovative... it's a major step back...

    Thankfully Froyo does add a lot else... or it will when this darn thing gets updated like my Droid 1 did! :)
     
  2. sweeeeet

    sweeeeet Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +65
    maybe you cover the sensor? i never had the issue w my d1

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    It really sounds like you have a bad proximity sensor. It is supposed to activate the screen when you pull it away from you ear. If it isn't, take it back to Verizon, or better yet call them. The phone folks respond better to issue like this.

    Good luck.
     
  4. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does and it doesn't work. In daylight it works better but, when indoors and with artificial light, it can be downright irritating. I also don't know how to handle the phone because sometimes the phone thinks there is something close by (I am guessing it is light based.) No question, a hard button solves all these darn problems that don't need to be handled by software!!!! :D
     
  5. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I know what youre talking about, it happens to me all the time.

    However I have Tedd's tools or something and once ur in a call it adds another screen with just a button that you long press to get out of so that you don't accidently hang up on someone.

    It's brilliant!
     
  6. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tip! It's invaluable as this nonsense happens a few times a week and I just can't get the screen to turn on to pull down the menu and then hang up a call.
     
  7. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Well with froyo you can set the power button to hang up calls and it works great cause I did what you guys have been doing to..losing the phone screen and couldnt hang up..

    Settings/Accessibility