Android Market wifi

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Malvado, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    ok so i noticed that in order to download apps from the market, i have to be on wifi at all times. everytime i download something, i get a FAIL message and tells me i have to be on wifi to download the app. what if im not in a wifi network? is there a way to disable this damn thing
     
  2. dankarlinski

    dankarlinski Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Some large games or apps will require you to be on wifi because, of the large size.

    no way around it
    Sent from my Liberated Droid2 (2.0.1)
     
  3. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    But that's where the problem lies...it asks me for wifi for all apps...small or big in size...I was downloading a live wallpaper and it still asked for wifi

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  4. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    I have no issues downloading over WiFi or 3G. Try *228 option 2.

    I did have an issue on my Droid one time where I had to log out of GTalk to make downloading from the Market work. Very strange...I found it during a google search posted by a Google Tech saying to sign in or out of the app if getting failed downloads. Thought it was strange but as soon as I signed out, all was well.
     
  5. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    But I have no problem dowloading either. I just don't want to have to be on wifi all the time to be able to download an app no matter what size. This wasn't a problem on my droid 2

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  6. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Did you miss the "or" in my post :)

    No problems on 3G or WiFi.

    Sent from my Viewsonic 10" GTab...CM7 style...
     
  7. woodyman

    woodyman Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4
    check this in settings..

    settings>Battery and data manager>Data saver make sure you set it to off otherwise it restricts the browser, gallery, email and market to only doing certain things on wi-fi only, also check the data delivery menu option, make sure data is enabled over the mobile network. It sounds like you have the data saver on, if it isn't on try turning it on rebooting, then turning it off its worth a shot. hope this clears it up


     
  8. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    No I read your post. But I'm not having problems with my connections though, that's what I'm trying to tell you.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    Aah yes...thanks a lot man problem solved. It was getting annoying to have to turn on my wifi all the time...I'm not a big wifi user so yea lol

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. psychotic_penguin

    psychotic_penguin DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Ratings:
    +33
    I got mine at work today, started downloading apps on 3G, picked up WiFi when I got home and had no issues with that.

    A few updates on WiFi tonight once again no problems.
     
  11. DANOinSD

    DANOinSD New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Data Saver

    Data Saver Mode be Damned! Just another double edged sword!!
     
  12. technogeek00

    technogeek00 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll second that. Wonder who thought of the idea, Motorola to save battery or Verizon to safe bandwidth?
     
  13. vbhokiefan

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    +1 - not sure how mine got turned on, but this morning it was restricting me, even on things like Twitter updates and Go Launcher updates.

    But Woodyman to the rescue, once again! Thanks
     
  14. Hemarr

    Hemarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome


    Awesome that was it it now works on both, WiFi and G4 Thank you so much
     
Search tags for this page
android download requires network
,
android download requires wifi
,

disable download size requires wifi

,

download requires network

,
download requires network android
,
download requires network error android
,
droid x download requires network
,
my droid 3 wont download apps without wifi
,
remove download size requires wifi
,
turn off download size requires wifi