(Android) DROID RAZR: "The software update failed. (6.16.211.en.US)" HELP PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by trickisdope, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my droid razr a week ago with motofail and deleted bloatwares by using Titanium Backup without backing up those apps. Then I realized that now, I can't update the new software update (6.16.211.en.US) on my android. Please help me and give me the steps to fix this. Right now, I have the current 6.12.181.XT912.Verizon.en.US version on my Droid Razr.
     
  2. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my droid razr a week ago with motofail and deleted bloatwares by using Titanium Backup without backing up those apps. Then I realized that now, I can't update the new software update (6.16.211.en.US) on my android. Please help me and give me the steps to fix this. Right now, I have the current 6.12.181.XT912.Verizon.en.US version on my Droid Razr.
     
  3. GSdub510

    GSdub510 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    You weren't supposed to delete the bloatware. The only way to update is to have the bloatware running. You're supposed to freeze bloatware then unfreeze it while updating.
     
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
  6. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not really used to these Android things. Can you tell me which download link it is on that site or do you mind giving me the steps since you're an amazing expert (-: I am really in need of fixing my phone... sigh...
     
  7. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    All three links are the same thing just hosted on different sites. After you download it you need to extract the entire zip file to the Root of your C: Drive. Install the Motorola Drivers included in the folder.

    Put your phone into USB debugging mode and allow installation of applications for unknown sources, both of those are in your settings on your phone.

    After that you plug your phone into your computer and put it on Charge Only mode load up the Utility press option 1 and follow the instructions.

    It is going to tell you that you need to put your phone in AP Fastboot mode, to do this....

    Power off your phone. Press and hold both the volume up and down and then press the power button. Once on the black screen with white text press the volume down to go to AP Fastboot and Volume up to select it.

    That should get your started, let us know if you run into any other problems.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the Utility press option 1, sir?
     
  9. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,721
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    You will run the DroidRAZRUtility.bat file that is in the extracted folder on your C Drive of the PC.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've gotten there while my Droid Razr is on AP Fastboot, then it said "The system cannot find the path specified." Please help! Also according to the AP Fastboot, "Device is LOCKED,S Status Code: 0"
     
  11. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I clicked option 1, but it said "The system cannot find the path specified.
     
  12. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I clicked option 1, but it said "The system cannot find the path specified.
     
  13. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    Means you didn't extract the files properly. Did you extract the entire zip file to the root of your C: drive?

    Also that status of locked is normal on AP Fast boot mode.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
     
  14. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I extracted all the files and downloaded the motorola software! But still not working.

    Btw, I have backed up all my apps on Titanium Back up.
    I installed all the apk's ( Razr Bootstrap, Sript Manager, Safestrap, & Voodoo Rootkeeper) already.
     
  15. trickisdope

    trickisdope New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also the instruction said "The Status Code on AP Fastboot has to be 1, but on my droid it says 0."
     
Search tags for this page
6.16.211.xt912.verizon.en.us
,
android update 6.16.211.en.us
,
android update failed
,

droid razr software update failed

,
motorola razr software update failed
,
motorola razr update failed
,
razr software update failed
,

software update failed droid razr

,
the software update failed android
,
update 6.16.211.en.us droid razr