Android 2.2 - Froyo

Discussion in 'Android News' started by danDroid, May 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's not completely accurate. To better froyo release. You need to have ota unblocked. In this case everyone can still get the ota release

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I don't think so Miami. You would have to uninstall SPRecovery for the OTA wouldn't you?
  3. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No you won't. Even with sp you can get the ota as long as ota isn't blocked. In this case ota is not blocked. Onceyou download the ota root will be gone.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, I have Sprecovery and was getting the 2.1 update popups and I was on a custom Rom at the time.
  5. mmw68666
    Offline

    mmw68666 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    so anybody knows when the OTA will be coming?
  6. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't give you qn exact date. We will announce it once we get it for sure.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    But Matth3w says you can't if you have SPRecovery installed!!!

    Could he have been wrong? ;)
  8. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes he's dead wrong

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
  9. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    If you click for it to install, then just reboot when it reboots into sprecovery, you'll be fine. SPRecovery keeps it from applying itself because of the apply update.zip option that needs to be checked.
  10. J. Dub
    Offline

    J. Dub New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In yo intanetz!!!
    Thanks hook for the reply.
  11. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Related, can anyone post a vid of the "New" boot animation on Froyo RC for us?
  12. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I didn't notice a difference. I have a theme applied now though, or I would get it for you.
  13. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Anyone notice that FROYO takes up 60MB additional internal memory? Thats a friggin' lot!! Is there a way to free some up? I like to have at least half free if possible
  14. J. Dub
    Offline

    J. Dub New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In yo intanetz!!!
    I bet the official version will be 40MB
  15. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Only asked because some stated "New", wasn't sure if it had been changed.

    Well, I've put SPRecovery on my Droid.

    I forgot to make a nandroid folder on the SD, however SPR made one when it attempted a default simple namdroid backup.

    I renamed that folder 2.1-OEM-Backup, and copied the nandroid folder back to my pc for redundancy.

    I extracted the froyo recovery to my desktop and placed into the nandroid folder.

    Now sitting at the SP screen, and think I screwed up, wanted to look at the restore, went to advanced restore, and expected it to show me a folder, it went to "restoring ....."

    Oh crap.



    Props to Hookbill, who's been on the sidelines with me sort of...
  16. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ok, I think i'm safe, because while restoring, it does say unpacking data image, and I know from looking at the froyo contents, that didnt have a data file, while my backup did ...
  17. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Pull the battery.
  18. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Did you click choose backup or perform restore?
  19. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Restore, but I thinnk I'm safe, it unpacked data files, and I know the froyo didnt have one ...
  20. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Hey, at least it's nice to see that I get all my stuff back with a restored backup hehehe ...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
/packages/ passion/signed-passion-frf50- from-ere27.1e519a24
,
adr6300 droid root kit froyo
,
froyo79 com.
,
nao human droid
,
owl on s4 lockscreen
,
rom froyo 2.2 adr6300
,

silverlight android 2.2

,
silverlight android 2.2 download
,
silverlight apk
,

silverlight for android 2.2

,
silverlight para android 2.2
,
silverlight.apk