1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Android 2.2 - Default Dailer, Swype, Chrome to Phone

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by jv59, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. jv59
    Offline

    jv59 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I have the original Droid and I installed Android 2.2. I also have an app called Dialer One. Is there a way to program the phone button on the home screen to open Dialer One instead of the default dialer?

    Does Swype work on the original droid? If so, how do I activate it?

    Do I need to install the Chrome to Phone app to get the Firefox send to phone plug-in to work. I heard that this functionality my already be installed in Android 2.2.

    If I upgrade to a 32GB micro SD memory card can I just copy the contents from the old card to the new one or is there something more to this?

    BTW: Ignore the message icon, I thought it was a question mark. :)

    Thanks.
  2. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go into settings>applicatiosn>all tab> dialer clear defaults

    Yes you need the C2P app installed.

    Not sure about swype.

    SD card... yes. I think.
  3. jv59
    Offline

    jv59 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The clear defaults button is disabled for the dialer. I tried stopping it, but it just starts up again.

    Thanks.
  4. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Isn't chrome to phone for the chrome browser as opposed to Firefox?
  5. jv59
    Offline

    jv59 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's a plug-in called Send to Phone for Firefox. It's suppose to work with the Chrome to Phone app.
  6. dimaj
    Offline

    dimaj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    To enable Swype (assuming you have it installed) go to Settings > Language & Keyboard > Put a checkmark next to Swype.

    As far as copying SD cards... Yes, it will work. I have replaced the stock Category 2 card with a new faster card. After copying everything from one card to the other and booting up my device, everything was fine. Nothing was changed in any way.

    dimaj
  7. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    "There's a plug-in called Send to Phone for Firefox. It's suppose to work with the Chrome to Phone app."

    Oh, ok. Good to know. Thanks.
  8. tommyz
    Offline

    tommyz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Swype...

    I ended up uninstalling and re-installing to get it to work after upgrading to 2.2
  9. amajamar
    Offline

    amajamar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe that the developer of Dialer One has noted somewhere that the dialer pad of the Froyo launcher could not be changed. However, if you want a launcher that allows you to do that, try ADW Launcher. It is awesome, and it allows you to have any dialer you want!

    As far as Swype is concerned, it does not come with 2.2 natively; if you can find it (as the beta program is closed, I believe) it will work great.

    The Chrome to Phone app that comes with 2.2 works as is. I don't know how the new version (2.0) may be different. And I use it with Firefox. It's pretty cool!

    I don't know about changing SD cards, that is a question I would like to know the answer to myself!
  10. MaryU
    Offline

    MaryU New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you uninstall Swype beta so you can re-install? I have the beta on my Droid but after 2.2 came in - the swype says I have to uninstall and reinstall.
  11. MaryU
    Offline

    MaryU New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I tap the Swype Install icon it comes up with a box telling me I have to uninstall it but I cannot find an uninstall button anywhere
  12. jv59
    Offline

    jv59 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If is uninstalls like most Android apps then select as follows ...

    System Menu --> Settings --> Applications --> Manage Applications.

    Select Swype Beta (not sure if it shows like this) and push the Uninstall button.
Search tags for this page
andriod change default dailer
,
android 2.2 default dialer
,
android 2.2 dialer app
,
android 4 change default phone dialer
,
android 4.1.2 default dialer
,
android phone dialer default
,
change default android phone dialer
,

change default dialer android

,
change default dialer android 2.2
,
change default dialer android 2.3
,
chrome dialer for android
,
ganti default dialer android froyo
,
how to change android default dialer
,
install default android dialer droid
,
swype for android phones