And another thing... Navigation > Directions

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Daywalker, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. Daywalker

    Daywalker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If one more person shows me they have free navigation on their I-phone and it is the "where" app with a map with a line on it and I have to show them free spoken turn by turn with street view at the end showing me the building I want I am going to slap them.

    YOU HAVE A MAP NOT NAVIGATION
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    HA!! i agree :rofl3:
     
  3. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL!! That's so true...
     
  4. Big Cam

    Big Cam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are trying to overcompensate.

    Give them a break, jealousy is flatery or some crap.
     
  5. G_Neo

    G_Neo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha! Yeah!
     
  6. countryboy498

    countryboy498 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do like the turn by turn directions, however the google turn by turn gps has twice not found a home address and had me way out of the way because of it. So unless I am going to a long time business I tend to just use mapquest. Is there an update for it or am I missing something?
     
  7. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    They were told by Jobs and company that what they have is good enough so they blindly believe...
    Remember most (but not all) Apple users can't think for themselves. In their eyes IF they needed it apple would provide it...
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    No updates that I know of. I've had it direct me a couple of times and it did just fine.

    If you fine there is an error there is a place to report it. Check out Google Maps and I think you should find it in there. (on line)
     
  9. countryboy498

    countryboy498 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Hook, I will check that out. I have used the GPS only a hand full of times and twice got really bad directions so it makes me cautious to put a lot of faith in it. However after reading several posts, people are saying how great it is. Maybe I'm just doing something wrong.
     
  10. drew

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had an opportunity to use the Navigation over the past week.

    First, I got lost in Kentucky trying to find a specific hotel. Chalked this up to the hotel moving and the address never got updated.
    Second, it got me to the client I was visiting (1 for 2)
    Third, you have to be REALLY specific to where you are going, as it kind of directed me to the wrong airport (Cincinnati - Lunken Field vs. Cincinnati International Airport). In the phone's defense, my wife was riding shotgun and wasn't paying attention to the map.
    It had trouble finding businesses also.

    I think it's neat from a "toy" perspective, but still has a little ways to go before it passes for a true GPS tool.
     
  11. CYBER DROIID

    CYBER DROIID Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Taylors SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love my sky net navigate but can someone please please tell me how to change the awful voice on there........Please!
     
  12. number6

    number6 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found a nifty little control in Settings - won't actually change the voice itself but will alter how it sounds (accent and speed):

    Settings> Text-to-Speech
    -select "Always Use My Settings"
    -Speech Rate (changes how fast/slow it speaks)
    -Language (just for kicks, I have mine on "British English"; it's not perfect, but a nice change form the droning default voice)

    One caveat- I'm not sure if setting "Language" to an actual different language would translate the directions into said language, or if it would just read the English words with the pronunciation/accent of the selected language. I'm too much of a chicken to try it for fear it might mess up my Driod!
     
  13. drew

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm actually hoping to get a language pack for either Snoop Dogg or Flavor Flav. Yo..turn rizzle fo shizzle...
     
  14. miamidroid

    miamidroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the voice command "navigate to.." and it hasn't failed me once. Using the voice command you can spell out the entire address and then itll tell you. I think what some of you are experiencing, is the fact that when you ask for an address it pulls up a few of them with small differences, like dif zip code, ave instead of st or something along the lines, so make sure you select the correct address.. Also you can use the command "navigate to (name of business)" and it'll give you a list of businesses with that name and you just pick the one you want or if there are no other matches it will confirm the name of the business and all you have to do is touch navigate.
     
  15. justbob

    justbob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dunno. I think she sounds kind of hot. :)
     
Search tags for this page

change mapquest voice

,
droid razr m navigation won't speak street names
,
galaxy s3 navigation only directions not voice directed
,
how to change voice accent in driod navigation
,
samsung galaxy s3 snoop dogg navi
,

snoop dogg navigation android

,
snoop dogg navigation for android
,

talk to text to speech navigation snoop dogg