An observation..skewed, not sure.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jetdoc, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. jetdoc
    Offline

    jetdoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, Md
    Ok, I've had the X since yesterday, so I am giving it more time, but I traded my DINC in to get this thing.

    So far I've noticed a few things that I have some concern over, another, not such a biggy.

    I really liked the DIC's home page, the clock and weather widget was so cool and very accurate, and it came like that. I did download the app for the X but its not as nice as the 'stock' on for the DIC.

    The one thing that really is getting me worried is the network. I am constantly losing the network, be it Wifi or 3G, or even the phone call strength.

    I can be in the same spots in the house with the X, or outside, and it is constantly dropping the signal and looking again. I can turn off the wifi when outside and it has a heck of a time finding the 3G, but the DINC found it and locked on, hard, and never lost it.

    And people are telling me I am constantly breaking up, at my house, when on the phone. Again, with the DIC I never had that problem.

    Now with the DINC, I didn't like the smaller screen, and the only real problem I had was it was starting to reboot, (a known issue, but with a fix in the works..>)........

    So I am hoping the network issue is a glitch, but losing it when downloading apps, or doing Gchat, is very annoying, especially when I maybe was spoiled with the HTC DINC.

    Just my 2cents.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, that will be interesting to see how that all comes out of the wash.

    My question to you is what made you want to trade in the Incredible in the first place? This had to be a 30 day exchange, correct?
  3. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not having that issue but some people on the other forums have mentioned similar problems. There is info on an update (due within the next week I believe)posted on Verizon's site that includes a baseband update that might take care of the issue you're having. So hold on a while longer. If it does not help, then get a replacement. Like I said, mine has been solid and has no connection issues.
  4. jetdoc
    Offline

    jetdoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, Md
    Hook, the main reason was the bigger screen...big hands, bigger keyboard, and yes, I was in the 30 day window. Darren, I will ck it out, I obviously have almost a month to see if I can get some help on the issue.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but that 30 day period goes from your first phone. It doesn't get extended when you get a different phone.
  6. jetdoc
    Offline

    jetdoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, Md
    Haha, In May I had the upgrade and got a middle of the road Samsung, did not like it, and sent it back in, not for an exchange, just because I didn't like it. No restocking fee if you do this.

    Then I got the DIC, didn't like it, sent it back in, no restocking fee. My upgrade put back on...got the X, 191.00 overnighted.
  7. AzJazz
    Offline

    AzJazz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do have a partial answer for you, jetdoc.

    Regarding losing 3G at your house, this is actually planned functionality on the DX.

    I have noticed that when the phone is successfully connected to a WiFi network, the 3G automatically drops out to save battery life. You can test this yourself by using the Moto Widget to turn off your WiFi hardware. You should see the 3G icon reappear within a few seconds. Turn the WiFi back on, and 3G will disconnect again almost instantly.

    Regarding the other connection problems, I have no answer.
  8. Mule65
    Offline

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you update roaming? Dial *228 then option 2.
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Very niceā€¦.
  10. jetdoc
    Offline

    jetdoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, Md
    AZ, I was wondering if you have Wifi on, how does it know which to connect to, or stay with, seems it would be conflicting...? I do turn my wifi on and off, but not through a widget but going through 'settings' and turning on and off, that is the same, yes..?

    I have not tested the phone away from home with just 3G available as I just got it late yesterday.

    Right now, in my house its shows both 3G and the wifi signal, no kidding, haha. Now lost 3G....

    Would setting in 'location and security settings' do anything..? I have only 'use GPS satellites' checked. 'Use wireless networks' is not ticked. 'Enabled assist GPS' is not ticked either.

    Mule, I've done star 228, 2 a few times Now I am out in the sticks, so maybe the DIC just had incredible reception, because its not unusual to have piss poor cell reception out here, but the DIC was rock solid.

    I am going to the store in a bit, so I will see how the 3G works out in the real world, lol
  11. jetdoc
    Offline

    jetdoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, Md
    I know, right....Hook, they themselves told me a long time ago, if you send it back for an exchange you get the restocking fee...if you just send it back because you didn't like it, there is no fee, and they have never charged me. Then I re order a few weeks later.

    I've not done this a lot, just a lot until I get a good phone, then I am good for 2 or 3 years.
  12. jetdoc
    Offline

    jetdoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, Md
    To quote myself, I did have 'use wireless networks' ticked and also 'enable assist. GPS"...I think I did tick those and not sure if that would cause issues or not, so far, at least upstairs, its been holding up better...?