Ambient Display Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Nexus 6' started by wesmad, Mar 24, 2015.

  1. wesmad

    wesmad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hey guys, sorry if this has already been asked but I can't find anything on it. I was wondering if there was any way to make ambient Display only come on due to notification, and not when the device is picked up. That part doesn't interest me much, and serves more to annoy me by thinking it's been picked up when it hasn't. Absolutely loving my Nexus, and this would only make it that much better. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    I don't have a N6 but believe you do not have the choice of one or the other. It's either on or off. Perhaps someone with an N6 can confirm this.
     
  3. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,251
    Likes Received:
    3,741
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,012
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Correct @Jeffrey.. It will behave on pickup as well... There might be some custom ROM that will eventually change its options but none that I'm aware of at this moment..

    Tapped by Big 6
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. wesmad

    wesmad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    That's what I figured, but just wanted to see if someone knew something I wasn't seeing. Thanks guys!
     
  5. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,251
    Likes Received:
    3,741
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,012
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Most welcomed.. I will keep eyes open for any changes.. I turned mine off and went the LED way... Root needed for it though..

    Tapped by Big 6
     
  6. wesmad

    wesmad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yeah I went ahead and rooted straight out of the box, still running stock, but I've read a few people saying the LED route has made their battery life suffer a bit. Idk that it's a big enough deal for me to maybe lose some screen time. I'll probably give it a go and just see.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,251
    Likes Received:
    3,741
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +4,012
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I'm using Lightflow haven't noticed battery hit... Probably minimal at best..

    Tapped by Big 6
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. wesmad

    wesmad Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Good to hear. I'll definitely give it a go.
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I'm assuming there's the moto app. Go into there...settings...actions... Turn off approach for moto display. Shouldn't come on when you go to pick up then.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,829
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Never mind guess it still will when you pick it up. At least that's what it does in my turbo.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Nexus 6 does not have Moto display sadly, only the ambient display. Similar, but wish we had the option for both like the new Moto X.
     
  12. bnpdp

    bnpdp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    Current Phone Model:
    God's Phone aka Nexus 6
    I also turned it off. Using sound for notifications and double tap for display.
     
    • Like Like x 1