1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Am I the only one wishing for an underclocked ROM when we get NAND?

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by blazercist, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. blazercist
    Offline

    blazercist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wondering If I was the only one who had thought about this? Whether its possible?

    Its been quite apparent that despite the Incredible's awesomeness some people have been a bit upset with the battery life... With an underclocked CPU (say 750 Mhz) the processor would be undervolted/run cooler and potentially save a good deal of battery at a relatively small expense.

    Will any ROM chefs be cooking something along these lines?
  2. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    with a rooted phone there is no reason you shouldnt be able to do this.. using setCPU just set your maximum to 750..
  3. blazercist
    Offline

    blazercist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was under the impression that you needed a custom kernel to alter the clock and thus needed NAND, I'm going to try this now and see if its possible and/or makes any difference.

    Thanks.
  4. blazercist
    Offline

    blazercist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried OverClocking Widget, didn't work, don't want to spend money in Market on SetCPU unless I'm sure it will work. I guess I'll just wait for someone to report SetCPU working on rooted Incredible or just wait for ROMs.
  5. Lynx
    Offline

    Lynx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can spend the money, try it, and if it doesnt work get a refund. I think its only 99 cents, not positive though I bought it a while back.
  6. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    have you installed an overclock yet? you will most likely want the lowest one with 5-7 slots to downclock to a reasonable speed but you do need a overclock flash before you can over or under clock with most phones
  7. CaptainTaco
    Offline

    CaptainTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Overclocking / underclocking requires NAND access, we do not have this yet. This is the case even with SetCPU.

    As for requiring a Kernel, you would only need one if the phone does not have a stepping profile in it already, which I believe the incredible does. You would need a kernel to get a clock outside of that profile, i.e. an overclock (higher than 1.0ghz). I can't answer as to whether or not the phone has steps in it other than the 245mhz and 998mhz (1.0ghz). SetCPU shows many steps currently (with auto-detect), but A) it might be wrong, and B) you can't lock them without NAND anyway.

    EDIT: Before someone catches me on it. I'm fairly certain that you could Overclock/underclock with a custom kernel even without NAND access, however, none such kernels are available at this time. Perhaps unrEVOked's newest work (Auto-Flash Recovery) will change that.
  8. Berzerker
    Offline

    Berzerker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SetCPU is free, the market version is the donate version. Google SetCPU and it's on an xda topic.
  9. blazercist
    Offline

    blazercist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are correct sir, it does not work. Oh well, I donated $2 to SetCPU, I guess its not such a bad thing. Waiting for recovery flash tonight ;) hopefully I'll get what I want soon.