Am I the only crazy who keeps LTE off even though I live in a 4g area?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Comp625, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. Comp625

    Comp625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just bought the Thunderbolt just in time to lock in the Unlimited Data. It's my second ever smartphone and 1st on Verizon (consider me a n00b).

    I did receive the OTA update that was pushed out over this past weekend. I also do NOT experience any constant rebooting issues (knock on wood).

    The only true thing that annoys me is how the phone's service will "freeze" when it's switching between 3g and 4g (and vice versa). With that said, am I the only crazy one who intentionally keeps 4g off?

    4g is super fast and awesome when it works properly... but it's still too spotty in it's stage right now. :(
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That makes two of us. I always keep it off unless I'm literally sitting on my couch in my living room. That's the only place I can have 4g on and not lose service or get reboots. Other than that its always on 3g. I figure, I'm goinng to have the phone for 2 years or so, I can wait until 4g is really up and running in my area enough for me to keep it on all the time.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  3. Crazed_Z06

    Crazed_Z06 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +4
    I leave everything on.. 4G, GPS, Mobile Data, Auto-brightness, etc.

    I just got tired of toggling stuff on and off. I just make sure to have the phone charging whenever I can.
     
  4. AlexSB

    AlexSB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea man tu ta loco lol at home I keep it on wifi but when I'm out its 4g all day. Even when I'm at campus, their wireless is too spotty for me so I stick to 4g.
     
  5. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +2
    If i'm not using data then i toggle to 3g. If I am actively downloading or browsing then i toggle to 4g.
     
  6. Boxman

    Boxman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I fell stupid asking, NH how do you turn 4G off ?
    Thanks

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  7. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it's a serious drain on the battery, whether we are using it or not

    Sent by my Bolt powered by Thunder
     
  8. JRParsons

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Box, settings - wireless and networks - mobile networks

    Sent from my Illudium PU-36 Explosive Space Modulator
     
  9. JRParsons

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sent from my Illudium PU-36 Explosive Space Modulator
     
  10. JRParsons

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sorry, forgot Network Mode as the last step.

    Sent from my Illudium PU-36 Explosive Space Modulator
     
  11. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    I usually set mine to LTE only and it works great. I know my areas and if I'm in an area that doesn't have 4g I switch it.
     
  12. MTBryan

    MTBryan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep mine on 3G too. I don't think web browsing on the phone is that much faster on 4G than 3G.
    But when I want to connect to my computer, 4G is AWESOME!!!
    Between wifi and 3G my battery easily lasts all day. I bought an extended battery but rarely use it unless I am sitting at airports and want to computer surf there.
    IMHO 4g is like nitrous on a V8: Yes it's cool but just use it when you really need it.
    We all have different needs for this phone so others may vary.

    Sent from my TBolt
     
  13. pogibry

    pogibry Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    i live on the border of a 4g area, so not only is mine spotty i'm also smack-dab right inbetween two towers so i have a hard time connecting to even 3g. Luckily my wifi is the same as 4g so no worries at my house. Outside of my neighborhood it works like a dream :icon_ banana:
     
  14. FrellingFrakker

    FrellingFrakker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    4G in my area is great and I don't have any switching problems. However, I keep my Bolt on 3G only most of the time to conserve battery power. I only switch to 4G when I'm downloading something or streaming music or videos.
     
  15. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah 4G is a battery hog, but I keep mine set for both so that I can see which areas are broadcasting 4G. Right now pockets of it are starting to pop up between my place of work and home, but nothing by my house as of yet. However, if 4G was available on the regular, I would only use it when download large files and set my phone to 3G only.
     
Search tags for this page
4g keeps going off and on. on my verizon phone
,

cell phone keeps knocking me off internet

,
crazy htc phone get wireless even though its turned off
,

sprint keeps knocking me back to 3g

,
why does my 4g keep going to 3g
,
why does my galaxy s4 keep switching from 4g lte to 4g
,
why does my htc thunderbolt keep going back to 3g
,
why does my phone keep going from 3g to lte to no data
,
why is my lte going on & off?
,
why is my phone switching from 4g to edge