1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Am I rooted?????

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Corinacakes, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    yesterday i decided to do the "how to install: 2.1 the easy way" and got through Step 6. When i booted my phone it suddenly started getting horrible freezes and wouldn't go to my home screen or take calls. some error android.phone.blah blah. so i did a hard reset (and lost everything:( . i do show superuser in the app list but i click on it and it's just a black screen? how do i tell if i'm rooted and continue with the rest of the instructions. if i am that means i wont be able to get ota updates so i NEED to finish. hellllllppppppppp me!! lol
  2. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    ok i downloaded cachemate and didn't get a popup asking anything so i'm assuming i'm not rooted. you can close this thread if you agree. thanks
  3. pcandroid
    Offline

    pcandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    superuser doesnt do anything its just blank if you try and open it. sounds rooted to me.
  4. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    crap! well i guess i'll just keep asking till i can find out for sure lol. thanks for answering me
  5. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    download a terminal app and type su then hit enter...It will let you know if you have superuser privilege..
  6. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    thanks for helping me backnblack. i downloaded a terminal and typed su then hit execute. a popup came up that says:
    SU Request
    Process #15208 (app_10065:app_10065)/system/bin/sh -
    wants to run: /system/bin/sh as root:root

    then it has two buttons: allow - deny.

    should i click allow? im just scared to do anything that might hurt my phone.
  7. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    allow will log onto the su account.....
  8. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    ok i allowed now it says $ export PATH=/data/local/bin:SPATH$su#
  9. pcandroid
    Offline

    pcandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    rooted:icon_ banana:
  10. pcandroid
    Offline

    pcandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now you get to move on to the fun stuff
  11. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    omg! so this means i need to finish the 2.1 install becuz i wont get ota updates anymore right?

    i'm scared lol. after the way my phone freaked the hell out last nite trying
  12. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    OK i dont know wut the hell is going on but if i'm rooted i really need to get updated to 2.1 because i can't ota anymore. here's where i am from the HOW TO INSTALL: guide

    Step 7: Download Droid Root Helper TOOLS http://alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=898
    Download Droid Root Helper APK http://alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=897
    This program is awesome and will save you so much time! Specially if your new like me. Special thanks to: crotalusfreak

    Step 8: Setup Droid Root Helper. Extract "droidroothelper.zip", inside is a tools folder, copy "Tools" to the ROOT of your SDCARD. Then extract and copy "droidroothelper.apk" to ROOT of SDCARD too.

    Step 9: Once everything is copied over go over to the market place and download "Astro File Manager" so you can install third party apks.

    Step 10: Open up astro file manager, go into your sdcard root, find droidroothelper.apk, open with app manager, hit install<<<<<<<<<<< THERE IS NO HIT INSTALL BUTTON AND ALL THE FIELDS ARE BLANK IN THE SUMMARY:( WHAT NOW? i've reinstalled and zipped and copied 3 times and it's the same everytime.
  13. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    anyone? please
  14. ConfusedCosine
    Offline

    ConfusedCosine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Take your droidroothelper.apk.zip and hit rename, change its name to droidroothelper.apk

    It should become a apk file and not a folder. load that into your sd card and itll work. I just did this 5 mins ago. :p
  15. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    when i go in properties and look at the details....it IS named droidroothelper.apk. there is no zip on it. i've deleted it and redownloaded now probably 4 times. then extracted and moved the WHOLE extracted folder to my sd card. am i supposed to only move something that's in it?
  16. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Ok reinstalled the original manual update and am no longer rooted. i'll wait for the ota update for 2.1. thanks you guys for all yur help. :closed_2:
Search tags for this page

have superuser am i rooted