alternative to WeatherBug? HUGE Data file with WeatherBug

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by royta, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. royta
    Offline

    royta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is a good alternative to WeatherBug? The app is 5MB and the Data is 5+MB. I'll delete the Data in "Manage applications", go back to the WeatherBug app, uncheck "Enable Background Data", "Enable My Location", and "Enable Follow Me". At that point I am supposed to enter a location, but instead I'll just exit out and go back to "Manage applications". My Data file is back up to 5+MB without a single location being saved. If I do enter one location, the Data is 6MB for a total of 11+MB that this application is hogging up.

    I sent WeatherBug an email, but I'm not expecting any changes since the same thing happens with the latest version of 2.5.494, the one I had prior of 2.5.485, and most certainly a few releases prior. What is the deal with this developer?

    Thanks.

    Roy
  2. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    11 MB's isn't a lot.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  3. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    exactly. and weatherbug elite on my phone is only 4.04 MB
  4. royta
    Offline

    royta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is not your decision to make. To me, a 5MB app that more than doubles in size with only one location saved IS A LOT. Now are you going to at least make a small effort in answering my question, or just give subjective opinions?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You could try Weather Underground. I'm not sure of the app size on phone, but I can check in a few (just did a factory reset ha)
  6. SniperDroid
    Offline

    SniperDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could try the Weather Chanel app.. only about 3 megs in size. Personaly, I like the subjective opinions of guy's that have been here sooooo much longer than myself. Helps me learn what the hell I'm doing... I mean, since I came here with a problem anyway.
  7. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Theres an entire category of weather apps in the market? I guess the weather channel app and AccuWeather would be pretty good as well (never used them but both have large networks for accurate weather i believe)...btw have you tried clearing the cache instead of just the data? it seems to build a large cache at first but once cleared it doesnt add very much?
  8. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    weatherbug actually seems to be the smallest...weather channel is a little over 5 mb and accuweather is about 10 mb...i havent opened them up yet, i'll update when i do but it would seem accuweather is out

    weather channel app gets to about 6 mb total...still dont see why your weatherbug is taking up so much space though but if it does then it does lol
  9. royta
    Offline

    royta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not the initial app size of 5MB that bothers me. It's the additional 5 to 6 MB of data that is used up with just a single location saved. It doesn't make sense to me.

    I switched to WeatherBug over Weather Channel about a year and a half ago. I really like WeatherBug, but I'm just trying to free up same space and improve the speed of this aging Droid 1.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. royta
    Offline

    royta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't recall seeing the cache actually get that large. I'll clear the cache on all the apps from time to time. I don't like to clear the data on any app because you have to reload everything.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Its a little hassle sometimes but theres always the option of link2sd if you're rooted, just a suggestion too
  12. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Weather Underground is 2.98MB app and 3.12MB total.
  13. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    I'm simply making the point that emailing them won't solve anything because 11 MB's isn't anything abnormal. That said, the easiest way is simply accessing weather.com or the like.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  14. royta
    Offline

    royta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's probably time to trade in the Droid 1 for a Droid X2 anyway. Still, doubling the overall size when adding a single location is goofy.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  15. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    nooo, the OG DROID 1 never dies lol I would suggest rooting and using link2sd if you really want more space, its like my phone has basically an extra 512 mb storage for apps lol, and swap is usually handy too
  16. royta
    Offline

    royta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The app actually takes up less data space on my X2 then on my Droid1.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
  17. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Do a Google search for the "Genie" app. It is part of the stock DroidX, called "News and Weather" app to us DroidX'ers. I believe it uses the weather data from The Weather Channel.

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

accuweather vs weatherbug android

,
alternative to weather bug
,

alternative to weatherbug

,
does weatherbug use data
,
weather channel app vs weatherbug
,

weatherbug alternative

,
weatherbug alternative android
,
weatherbug enable my location
,

weatherbug vs accuweather

,

weatherbug vs weather channel

,

weatherbug vs weather channel android

,
why does weatherbug use so much memory