alright... whats going on with setcpu

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Jam2it30@gmail.com, May 2, 2010.

  1. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have UD10 Update and this is the first time I have ever had to install a Kernel, the Kernel i'm trying to install is Bekit's 0.8.3 Low Voltage 1300mhz, and I did all the instructions in this phenomenal guide Complete How-To on How to Mod Your Phone (2.1 ROM, O/C, MM, Boot Animation, etc) and my phone said Kernel installed and I rebooted and got the error message when I opened Setcpu "No root acess Detected" Does anyone have any help to what is going on? thanks For all the help :motdroidhoriz::motdroidhoriz:

    Edit: Very strange, I was using another root only app and it told me no root found...
    Last edited: May 2, 2010
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UDv10 comes with the med vol 1000mhz kernel stock.

    I'd try flashing again, see if SetCPU recognizes your root access. If it does, then I'd trying flashing the 1300mhz Bekit kernel again. BD's site has instructions on it.
  3. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I don't think I put it in my post, I just updated from UD10 to UD10Update, which doesn't come with an overclocking kernel
  4. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The update comes with Bekits med vol 1000mhz kernel. I wouldn't lie to ya :)

    When I updated I was using P3's kernel and the update flashed Bekit's kernel on my Droid.

    I've been getting cooler temps with Bekit and a lil smoother operation.
  5. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alright, Sorry, thats really strange then... because right when i flashed UD10update about 30 minutes ago, I tried to O/C past 550, and it wouldn't do it. (Auto-detect, Not droid)
  6. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea auto-detect is the right way.

    That is weird. Like I said I'd try again to flash the update and see if it works this time. If not I'd download the kernel from BD's site and just follow the instructions they have there. Should go seamlessly.

    it's ultimatedroid dot com.
  7. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alright, flashing the ROM again, if it doesn't work just going back to my old working UD10, gotta love nandroid backup's! thanks for the help, ill let you know if anything has changed in just a second here...

    edit, another question...I have been wiping data, and cache and stuff... do I really have to do this upgrading from ud10 to ud10update?
  8. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok. You aren't using ROM manager to install UD roms are you?

    Just checkin....
  9. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    How did you install the Bekit's kernel man? If you installed it as an update.zip and it 'seems' to have worked it may not really be working. I heard that these kernels can't be installed this way. I just use ROM Manager to flash kernels to my UDv10 update. I had bad issues arise like this and found that it was because I installed it using the zip method...
  10. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, no! I got the ROM update on his Fourm
  11. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't use ROM Manager to install UD. It works best with Sprecovery and BD's install instructions. Check out his site of some of the UD help threads here on DF.

    It's not meant to be used with ROM Manager.
  12. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, good :)

    Have any luck this time?

    Kernels for UD are in update.zip format.
    Rename to update.zip.... boot in recovery... select 'allow update.zip installation".... then install update.zip.
  13. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I have been using them as an Update.zip, should I not be doing that?
  14. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    update.zip method is the recommended method by BD for UD.
  15. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Guys, I installed his ROM and update using SP Recovery... I am saying I used ROM Manager to flash different kernels...

    I was having kernel issues and was told it was because the Bekit's kernels were not designed to be installed in the update-zip method. People told me there are complications doing it this way. I am no genious but I am just passing the info that when I re-flashed the kernel using ROM Mananger I had no issues at all... Bekit's and P3 are on Rom Manager.
  16. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alright good because thats the only way I have been doing this, haha, Rebooting into recovery now about to install the 1.3mhz kernel
  17. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. Does make sense. Not saying you're wrong, just doing the same as you, passing on what I've seen from ud dot com.
  18. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alright very interesting, I put it in the root of my SD card... I assume that means in no folders or anything and it is named:"update.zip" and it says cant open\sdcard\update.zip (no such file or directory found, Installation aborted)
  19. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. Root of SD means not in any folders.

    Sometimes naming the file 'update.zip' actually makes it's named "update.zip.zip"

    Might need to just name it 'update' and the .zip is already the file extension
  20. Jam2it30@gmail.com
    Offline

    Jam2it30@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that was it! thanks I couldn't figure out what the heck was going on, hey I have another question. What is the difference between a low voltage kernel and a medium voltage kernel? do you have any links where I could read up on it. I'm on the low voltage kernel, but i'm not sure if i should be on the higher voltage one by the way thanks for all the help!