alphabetizing items in folder.. I DON'T WANT IT

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Jonpwn, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a folder on my home screen for "quick call"s. in the folder i have placed "direct dial" options to my most frequent contacts.
    i put them in order of importance, and droid decides to alphabetize it, which i don't want.

    it may sound nitpicky but can i turn this option off?

    and my droid 1 is rooted if that helps
     
  2. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump help please
     
  3. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nobody has any input on this?
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I don't have any folders like that but it would seem to me that you would long press on the folder and an option should come up.

    Just a guess, hang in there if that doesn't work and bump the thread until someone give you an answer. You may want to Google the question.
     
  5. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    What did you use to create the folder?

    I know with FolderOrganizerLite you can choose how the items in the folder are organized
     
  6. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    no options if i long press. i googled it but i didn't find anything. i guess i'm the only one who is irked by this lol

    and i used the stock OS to create a folder, but i will have a look at folderorganizelite. thanks!
     
  7. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure if there's a way to change how the items in a folder are organized with the stock OS, but I know FolderOrganizer gives you an option.
     
  8. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    "manual sort of items is available only in full version."

    thanks though, any other ideas?
     
  9. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize!!!

    I use the Lite version... and have seen the option in there organize manually, but since I didn't care they were alphabetical I never tried! :icon_eek:
     
  10. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    no need to be sorry you definitely helped.
    it's okay, for now i'll just live with it i guess..
     
  11. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    well at least if it gets under your skin enough you know there's a solution out there :)
     
  12. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha a 1.35 solution. i'm too cheap to pay just for one function
     
Search tags for this page

alphabetize folders on android

,

alphabetize items in a folder

,

how to alphabetize the content of a folder in outlook 2010