alphabetizing items in folder.. I DON'T WANT IT

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Jonpwn, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a folder on my home screen for "quick call"s. in the folder i have placed "direct dial" options to my most frequent contacts.
    i put them in order of importance, and droid decides to alphabetize it, which i don't want.

    it may sound nitpicky but can i turn this option off?

    and my droid 1 is rooted if that helps
     
  2. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump help please
     
  3. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nobody has any input on this?
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I don't have any folders like that but it would seem to me that you would long press on the folder and an option should come up.

    Just a guess, hang in there if that doesn't work and bump the thread until someone give you an answer. You may want to Google the question.
     
  5. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    What did you use to create the folder?

    I know with FolderOrganizerLite you can choose how the items in the folder are organized
     
  6. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    no options if i long press. i googled it but i didn't find anything. i guess i'm the only one who is irked by this lol

    and i used the stock OS to create a folder, but i will have a look at folderorganizelite. thanks!
     
  7. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure if there's a way to change how the items in a folder are organized with the stock OS, but I know FolderOrganizer gives you an option.
     
  8. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    "manual sort of items is available only in full version."

    thanks though, any other ideas?
     
  9. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize!!!

    I use the Lite version... and have seen the option in there organize manually, but since I didn't care they were alphabetical I never tried! :icon_eek:
     
  10. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    no need to be sorry you definitely helped.
    it's okay, for now i'll just live with it i guess..
     
  11. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    well at least if it gets under your skin enough you know there's a solution out there :)
     
  12. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha a 1.35 solution. i'm too cheap to pay just for one function
     
  13. Droids

    Droids Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've always found that folder contents are stored by the order you added to it. Don't think I've seen it alphabetically sort the contents, but maybe it depends on the contents. Pretty sure the only work-around is folder organizer. I know there have been times I wanted to re-arrange the order and the only way was to remove and re-add the contents in the order I wanted. I agree this function should be built-in to the OS.
     
  14. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh, but there's so much more you can do with FolderOrganizer. You can theme the icons for the folders and apps. You can change the name of an app so it appears differently on the home-screen. You can backup and restore folder settings so you don't have to re-create the folder everytime something happens.

    Besides, $1.35 is less than a 20oz soda. Just buy it - you'll be happy you did.
     
  15. Jonpwn

    Jonpwn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it would sort items in the way you put them in, and then after a few times of opening the folder i found that my contacts were alphabetized again.

    lol i also installed ADW home and still spending time rearranging everything and getting used to it. After i'm done with ADW i'll see if I still want to buy folderorganizer
     
Search tags for this page

alphabetize folders on android

,

how to alphabetize the content of a folder in outlook 2010