aLogcat - how long does it take?

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by creaky, Aug 22, 2011.

  1. creaky

    creaky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +31
    I'm on CM7 and have been having a force-close issue with an app. I downloaded aLogcat to generate a log to send to the dev but when I open aLogcat, it just goes to a white screen and I get a pop-up saying "Reading logs, please wait." It's been like this for a couple of hours. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. Natey2

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    aLogCat works fine for me. I use it all the time. Startup is pretty fast.

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app.
     
  3. kevinkar

    kevinkar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It never takes more than about 5 seconds to display data after the "Reading Logs" message. If the message goes away and you see just a blank screen, then maybe you have a bad filter set or your preferences are set to show nothing. If the "Reading Logs" message stays, it sounds like aLogCat is frozen. Can you get to the aLogCat preferences by pressing the Menu button?
     
  4. creaky

    creaky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +31
    yes, the pop up goes way after a few seconds and just leaves me with a blank screen.

    I can open filters and tried pressing clear; that takes me back to the blank white screen and the pop up (Reading logs, please wait), which goes away in a couple of seconds.

    I've also tried pressing clear from the menu and the same thing happens.

    I can get into preferences where the settings are:

    Level - verbose
    Format - brief
    Text size - medium
    Background color - white
    Auto scroll - checked
    Log output/HTML - unchecked
    Periodic save - unchecked

    Any clue???

    Thanks for the help....
     
  5. kevinkar

    kevinkar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure no filter is set (when you go to the filter option, make sure there's nothing typed in the filter box.

    Under Preferences, I have set:

    Verbose
    Time
    Main
    Medium
    White
    Auto scroll is off
    Periodic Save is off

    I get data scrolling away.

    Check the menu again and make sure it's not paused. I usually hit pause, then clear, and it starts back up scrolling again.

    You could also try going to the application manager, finding aLogCat, do a Force Close then a Clear Data, then start it up again. Worst case you could uninstall and reinstall it.

    Let us know if any of that works.
     
  6. creaky

    creaky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +31
    Thanks, kevinkar.

    I tried all of the above - put in your settings, made sure there was no filter, hit pause and clear, and did the same thing: got the popup "Reading logs, please wait" and then nothing. Force closed it and cleared cache. Same thing. Uninstalled and reinstalled, same thing. Emailed the dev this morning but haven't heard anything.

    Is there another app that does the same thing? I'm really not having any luck here....
     
  7. Natey2

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    Try the CatLog app to see if it can read your logs ?
     
  8. creaky

    creaky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +31
    Not getting anything with CatLog, either. Makes me think something is screwy with CM7 or something....
     
  9. Natey2

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    My thoughts exactly...

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app.
     
  10. creaky

    creaky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +31
    Did a data and cache wipe and reinstalled cm7 and all is working. Thanks all for your help.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
alogcat
,

alogcat blank

,

alogcat blank screen

,
alogcat it just blank page android
,
alogcat reading
,

alogcat reading logs please wait

,
alogcat white screen
,
how long does alogcat take
,

how to use alogcat

,
read alogcat logs