All weather radars I've tried FC after installing BB 7.4

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by PhontomF, Feb 8, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried like 4 different programs from the market that have animated radar on the market and they all FC when I go to the weather map.
  2. iamsupreme
    Offline

    iamsupreme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you could explain/say what BB 7.4 is, that might help exponentially. We can't all assume to know what app you're talking about. Coming from a BB Storm awhile back, I keep thinking "Blackberry Messenger?" when I know that's not the case. Just giving you a tip/pointer on asking questions in the future.
  3. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    BB is Bugless Beast 7.4 ROM

    Is anyone able to run any animated radar map after installing this ROM? Thanks!
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    You probably have to download the map update.
  5. iamsupreme
    Offline

    iamsupreme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I should have known. My fault OP. I'm running 7.4 I believe of the BB ROM. I downloaded the Sholes Updater (SM Updater) from the Market Friday of last week. Have the 2.0.3 ROM I believe. I'll test it out when I get home and see what I find out.
  6. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean the google maps update from the market? If so I already have that installed.
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to Pete's thread on All Droid and follow the instructions to update your maps.
  8. iamsupreme
    Offline

    iamsupreme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just loaded up WeatherBug Elite. Ran animated map(s) without a problem from within it. Updated Google Maps through Market after following the instructions on www.sholes.info

    Update (trevorj): If you are having issues with Maps/Maps related apps FCing, do this: (make sure you are on 2.0.3 when you do this!)
    1. Delete “/system/app/Maps.apk” and “/data/app/com.google.android.maps.apk” (the second one might not exist)
    2. Reboot your phone
    3. Go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > com.google.android.maps > Uninstall
    2. Market > Install Google Maps
  9. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Found it thanks, will give it a try
  10. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0

    link please
  11. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. PhontomF
    Offline

    PhontomF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Matth3w, that fixed it. Thanks!!
  13. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem.
  14. crspang
    Offline

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean Pete's map update or the market one?

    I'm sure I saw on Pete's page that he said NOT to download the market version.

    I see its a moot point now since the OP got it working..........sorry
  15. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the record, I was referring to the Pete update...read a few posts up. :)