All the sudden WiFi tether doesn't work

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Matth3w, Mar 5, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't ****ed with anything at all. Worked two days ago when I last used it, now it won't work.

    Tether Settings:

    BT unchecked
    WiFi encryption checked
    Passphrase is abc123
    SSID AndroidTether
    Channel 7
    Enable access control off
    Change lan to first choice
    full 3g signal

    WIFI settings on laptop:

    Shared
    WEP
    matthew110607


    When I go to connect it doesn't even ATTEMPT to connect, it just IMMEDIATELY says "Windows cannot connect". And I'm getting a bunch of reboots as well. I never ONCE had a single problem with tether. Just installed and it worked.


    WTFWTFWTF. I can't ****ing describe just how pissed I am right now that just when I actually NEED this ****ing tether program to work, something is ****ed up somewhere. Could be something I have done but I haven't changed a setting YET.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  2. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please god someone help me before I throw this ****ing computer and phone out the window.
  3. RoLa
    Offline

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    That suck Bro!, Like I said in another thread, back to BB 7.5, Till all this $h!* gets figured out! Which kernel? which rom?
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    BB 1.1, I ran this exact setup two days ago.
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Every time I've had trouble with Wifi Tethering I've uninstalled the app and then reinstalled Pre5 from here: Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    BTW, pre6 and pre7 have never worked on my Droid regardless of the rom/kernel. Pre5 has worked on every rom/kernel combination I've had. and it's fast too.

    Good luck.
  6. RoLa
    Offline

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Also, pre5 has worked without having to make any setting changes on either the phone or the laptop. Just install it, turn it on and press Wifi Start. When AndroidTether shows up as a network I connected to it. It does seem to take 2-3 minutes for my computer to list it as a network.
  8. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    You know what pisses me off? It works. Yeah, that's right. I'm pissed because suddenly it starts working for no reason.

    Because now I have no clue what the problem was. And while it works on my Laptop now with no issues, my Archos 5 doesn't recognize it at all. WTF.
  9. texasPI
    Offline

    texasPI Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've given up on it. Been battling with it for the last few days. Worked fine one day and went to sh!t overnight. I'm just running a stock w/root.
  10. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it's working fine on my laptop now...with the version 7 to boot.
  11. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Damn, I've tried pre6 and pre7 several times with different roms and neither will work for me. I hate when I don't have the latest and greatest. Oh well, it is what it is.
Search tags for this page
droid wont teather
,
help my laptop 39 s wifi suddenly doesn 39 t work
,
rooted my andoird and changed rom now wifi doesnt work
,
tether doesnt work
,
why won't wi-fi tether for root work
,
wifi suddenly doesn't work
,
wifi suddenly doesnt work on droid 2
,
wifi tether wont connect with encryption
,

wifi tether wont work

,
wifi tethering doesn't work anymore