All About Apps2SD (FROYO)

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by peteralfonso, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. peteralfonso

    peteralfonso Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    In my latest release I enabled apps2sd to work on most apps (even the ones that do not support it yet). Most of your apps will work flawlessly but there are some such as widgets and others that may not. Also you may have other questions about this feature and I will try to answer them as they come.

    Q) My Widgets and other apps are not working properly on the sdcard, what do I do?

    A) Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Example App > Move to Phone

    Q) Does having apps installed on the sdcard cause an ill effect on its performance?

    A) No not at all, stated by Google here: App Install Location | Android Developers

    Q) Why are my my market apps not showing up in my app drawer?

    A) If they are installed on your sdcard you must have it mounted or wait for it to mount before they appear.

    Q) How do I disable automatic apps2sd permanently?

    A) In /system/etc/install-recovery.sh change "pm setInstallLocation 2" to "pm setInstallLocation 0" with no quotes.
     
    #1 peteralfonso, Jun 15, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  2. mrZoSo

    mrZoSo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can also do this in adb:

    adb shell pm setInstallLocation <switch>

    <switch> options:
    1 = internal
    2 = sd
    0 = auto
     
  3. kinfolk248

    kinfolk248 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    Ratings:
    +85
    Is that the permanent fix to apps2sd, because terminal will get undone with each reboot right? Whats the permanent fix if I may ask
     
  4. peteralfonso

    peteralfonso Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Done, edited my OP
     
  5. clayinho

    clayinho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having a hard time editing that .sh file due to the read only permissions on it. How do I get around that?
     
  6. joker402

    joker402 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I have to format my sd card for this to work?
     
  7. peteralfonso

    peteralfonso Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    sysrw in terminal

    No its native
     
  8. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0

    Also its case sensitive. at least thats been my experience.

    pm set"I"nstall"L"ocation

    inside the quotes are capital.
     
  9. ddarvish

    ddarvish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry but what the hell is the auto option? does that mean the app itself decides where to install? does that have to be coded by the programmer?
     
  10. chewy74

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    is there a script that can move all the apps over to sd vs. having to do it one by one?
     
  11. creamers

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0

    I think Auto is if the dev actually specifies if there is can be installed on the sd card it will auto install the sd.
     
  12. bolden88

    bolden88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apps2SD minus the SD

    When I install .2.1 I lose all my apps and none of them are on my SD card. I have tried installing directly through "DownloadROM" and also install from SD card. Is there something else I am missing? I am back to .1 because I never write down all my apps so I can Redownload them. Time consuming. Runs really good though.
     
Search tags for this page
android kcryptd
,
apps2sd
,

apps2sd apk

,
apps2sd apk download
,

apps2sd froyo

,

froyo apps2sd

,
froyo’s apps2sd
,
kcryptd android
,
kcryptd loop
,
setinstalllocation apk