All About Apps2SD (FROYO)

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by peteralfonso, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. peteralfonso
    Offline

    peteralfonso Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my latest release I enabled apps2sd to work on most apps (even the ones that do not support it yet). Most of your apps will work flawlessly but there are some such as widgets and others that may not. Also you may have other questions about this feature and I will try to answer them as they come.

    Q) My Widgets and other apps are not working properly on the sdcard, what do I do?

    A) Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Example App > Move to Phone

    Q) Does having apps installed on the sdcard cause an ill effect on its performance?

    A) No not at all, stated by Google here: App Install Location | Android Developers

    Q) Why are my my market apps not showing up in my app drawer?

    A) If they are installed on your sdcard you must have it mounted or wait for it to mount before they appear.

    Q) How do I disable automatic apps2sd permanently?

    A) In /system/etc/install-recovery.sh change "pm setInstallLocation 2" to "pm setInstallLocation 0" with no quotes.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  2. mrZoSo
    Offline

    mrZoSo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    You can also do this in adb:

    adb shell pm setInstallLocation <switch>

    <switch> options:
    1 = internal
    2 = sd
    0 = auto
  3. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    Is that the permanent fix to apps2sd, because terminal will get undone with each reboot right? Whats the permanent fix if I may ask
  4. peteralfonso
    Offline

    peteralfonso Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Done, edited my OP
  5. clayinho
    Offline

    clayinho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having a hard time editing that .sh file due to the read only permissions on it. How do I get around that?
  6. joker402
    Offline

    joker402 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I have to format my sd card for this to work?
  7. peteralfonso
    Offline

    peteralfonso Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sysrw in terminal

    No its native
  8. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT

    Also its case sensitive. at least thats been my experience.

    pm set"I"nstall"L"ocation

    inside the quotes are capital.
  9. ddarvish
    Offline

    ddarvish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry but what the hell is the auto option? does that mean the app itself decides where to install? does that have to be coded by the programmer?
  10. chewy74
    Offline

    chewy74 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there a script that can move all the apps over to sd vs. having to do it one by one?
  11. creamers
    Offline

    creamers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee

    I think Auto is if the dev actually specifies if there is can be installed on the sd card it will auto install the sd.
  12. bolden88
    Offline

    bolden88 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Apps2SD minus the SD

    When I install .2.1 I lose all my apps and none of them are on my SD card. I have tried installing directly through "DownloadROM" and also install from SD card. Is there something else I am missing? I am back to .1 because I never write down all my apps so I can Redownload them. Time consuming. Runs really good though.
  13. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Disabling the auto install to SD also blocks out the move to SD option in Manage Applications for most applications. Which just goes to show how much work Pete put into being able to get Apps2SD working even beyond it's capabilities as we know it now. By replacing the '"2" with a "0" you can still move Apps2Sd in the Manage Applications menu but only the apps that developers have scripted to be compatable with Apps2SD

    Once again Pete, thanks for all of your hard work!!!
  14. Asterisk
    Offline

    Asterisk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So after my phone rebooted all the apps on my sd card are not showing up in the app drawer. I waited for my phone to finish mounting the sd card after the reboot and they still didn't show up. I even unmounted the sd card and remounted it and still nothing. Can someone help?
  15. Fulle
    Offline

    Fulle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reboot your launcher!
  16. magnus
    Offline

    magnus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having similiar problems.

    I haven't completely disables Apps2Sd because I'd like it for some apps......but I also need my widgets.

    Everything was working fine until I received my first phone call. After that I noticed that all the widgets for my home screen were gone, but they rest were there. So I rebooted ......BAM...they ALL gave that error message.

    Tried restarting Launcher pro, rebooting and moving all widget apps to phone, more rebooting, mounting and unmounting SD card...nothing.

    The apps in SD don't even show up in the app drawer and the custom icons I had for Apps Organizer are now all just standard Android green and white app icons. The shortcuts in there are the only way I can get to my Apps on SD.

    The apps were initially restored using Titanium backup

    Any ideas? HELP!!! :)
  17. tfkennady
    Offline

    tfkennady New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will moving apps2sd help overall performance?

    From what I can gather on the Android operating system is that it's unnecessary to run a task killer because the OS will prioritize what applications need to be running to suit your needs/experience at that particular moment and kill all others.

    Furthermore the operating system will use the remaining phone memory as "swap memory" when RAM becomes scarce.

    If this is true, could moving all your apps to the sd card effectively double your available "RAM"???

    If not, would it be possible to implement this into a custom rom (bugless perhaps)???

    Essentially all your apps would run from your sd card and if possible the entire OS.

    I probably don't know what I'm talking about but I was curious.
  18. eteusch1
    Offline

    eteusch1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I was fooling around with Apps2SD today and I found that after reboot, apps that were on my homescreen changed to the default icon, and weren't in the app tray....

    I also noticed that when you shutdown, the phone unmounts the sd card, and when you turn the phone on, it mounts the card. This is where I believe the problem is coming from. The launcher is started before the sd card is mounted, so it can't see the icons or programs, so it won't display the icons on the home screens or in the app tray.

    One way around that would be to change android so it doesn't unmount and mount the sd card when the phone powers off and on. The other option would to leave a "shortcut" (for lack of a better word) that would allow the launcher to add the icon as well as add it in the app tray, but point the app to the sd card location.....

    Is that right? if so, is anyone working on that?
  19. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Welcome to the party. All you do is restart launcher after reboot. all Icons and apps return
  20. eteusch1
    Offline

    eteusch1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks...figured that one out on my own. Is anyone looking at a work around (specifically the two that i mentioned above)?
Search tags for this page
android kcryptd
,
apps2sd
,

apps2sd apk

,
apps2sd apk download
,

apps2sd froyo

,

apps2sd.apk

,
download apps2sd froyo
,

froyo apps2sd

,
froyo’s apps2sd
,
kcryptd android
,
kcryptd loop
,
setinstalllocation apk